Black Widow Forever Red by Margaret Stohl Review

51HOgIx25+L._SX335_BO1,204,203,200_TITLE: Black Widow Forever Red

AUTHOR: Margaret Stohl

SERIES: Black Widow #1

PUBLICATION DATE: September 14th 2016

PUBLISHER: Marvel Comics

GENRE: Fantasy, Marvel, Comics, Superheroes, Young Adult

FORMAT: Paperback    PAGECOUNT: 401

Cover- Bad Ass! Those are the words that sum up this cover perfectly. I love how its all dark except for the bright red hair. Thumbs Up for this cover. l0fb.gif

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Enter the world of the Avengers’ iconic master spy

Natasha Romanoff is one of the world’s most lethal assassins. Trained from a young age in the arts of death and deception, Natasha was given the title of Black Widow by Ivan Somodorov, her brutal teacher at the Red Room, Moscow’s infamous academy for operatives.

Ava Orlova is just trying to fit in as an average Brooklyn teenager, but her life has been anything but average.The daughter of a missing Russian quantum physicist, Ava was once subjected to a series of ruthless military experiments-until she was rescued by Black Widow and placed under S.H.I.E.L.D. protection. Ava has always longed to reconnect with her mysterious savior, but Black Widow isn’t really the big sister type.

Until now.

When children all over Eastern Europe begin to go missing, and rumors of smuggled Red Room tech light up the dark net, Natasha suspects her old teacher has returned-and that Ava Orlova might be the only one who can stop him. To defeat the madman who threatens their future, Natasha and Ava must unravel their pasts. Only then will they discover the truth about the dark-eyed boy with an hourglass tattoo who haunts Ava’s dreams. . . .

My Review untitled-59

3.5 Stars.

I read this in just over 24 hours. I started this at about 1pm in the afternoon on the Tuesday, read till about page 320-ish until my eyes literally couldn’t stay open anymore and then read the remaining couple of chapters the next day at the pool as well as the bonus comic in the back. So yeah I enjoyed this.
After trying out a few books and not getting into them I saw this on my shelf and though ‘why not?’ and then I read a hundred pages in one sitting.

The writing wasn’t amazing, but I think Stohl did a great job writing about a certain billionaire, playboy with a thing for expensive metal suit. I actually didn’t realise Margaret Stohl was the author to this until I looked down at her name and realised her name sounded familiar and that’s because I’d heard it so much from the release of Royce Rolls, a book I also want to read and since I enjoyed this so much its likely I’ll pick that up at some point.

I give props Margaret for this book too because it cant be easy writing a novel that follows a super well known character, Black Widow that’s set in the MCU especially right now with everyones obsession with superheroes and the Avengers and it’s hard to make the reader care about your own original characters (in this case Ava and Alex) and make them feel like part of the story and not just like they’ve been thrown in by a 10 year old writing Black Widow Fanfiction, and although in my opinion it did have some cheesey moments you see in fanfiction those moments were far and few.

Another thing I was hoping for was Natasha bein a total badass super Russian spy. Basically I wanted this:

tumblr_m7ko4bVFak1rsy50k

And I don’t feel like I really got that all that much, which I was so disappointed with because in my mind I was hoping this would be a book version of that Black Widow movie it seems we’re NEVER gonna get!!

And the last thing that brought this down for me was … The Insta Love. Ahuh. Yep. I try not to cry Insta Love straight away until the words ‘I love you’ or ‘I think I’m in love with you’ or even when two characters start thinking about a future together that involves them living happily ever after together after only knowing each other for less then a week and so because these weren’t really said until like 3/4 of the way through, you could tell that’s where it was going and when it was said, they’d only known each other for at the most 3 days!!!! I’m gonna talk more about this in the spoiler section which I think will mainly be dedicated to the Insta-Love in this novel.

But other then the insta love and Natasha not being as badass I did love this, my eyes just could not stop reading. It was witty and funny and although it was cheesey I did want to find out the mysteries and I wanted to know what was going to happen. I plan on reading Black Widow Red Vengeance, the sequel to this novel, I believe its a duology as theres only those two out and I couldn’t find anything about a third. This book has also gotten me so much more excited about the Wonder Woman book by Marie Lu which comes out soon as well as the Batman and Catwoman novels too.

Spoliers

So like I said I try not to call Insta Love too early on in a book because sometimes it is the case that two people get along together really well after not long knowing each other, some people really do click and from that you can eventually start falling in love and catching feelings for one another. But this it was so strange.

After being shot at, Alex just decides to go with the strange girl he’d met less then an hour ago and be all like ‘its ok I’m with you’ etc. I was just reading with a face like: :O ???
I could understand it and maybe get behind it more if it had been Ava who’d said things like, ‘I know you’ because she’d been dreaming of him and following his life for such a long time, but Alex hardly knew her.
I did like how it was kind of self aware though with Natasha and some point saying along the lines ‘You’ve just met’. Yes thank you Natasha.

Because of this I was kind of happy when Alex died. Is that bad? It just felt right, and a good way to progress the story. I was upset for Natasha because she’d just got her brother back (which in itself was both a predictable and shocking twist because I didn’t think it would actually happen, and this is what for me made it feel kind of fanfiction-y) but all in all I didn’t feel too bad about his death.

I’m looking forward to the sequel, seeing Ava as the Red Widow, hopefully having more cameos from the Avengers and more badassness!

QUOTES

“I’m Natasha Romanoff. Nobody judos my ass.”

“Tony had started the evening off with his improvised Stark Quantum Detangler—quickly followed by a Stark Quantum Retangler—soon detouring into a little Stark Quantum Hypnotic Regulator, a Stark Quantum Rapid Eye Movement Stimulator, and a Stark Quantum Ultrasound Scanner. Basically, if Tony could put the words Stark or Quantum in front of it, he was game.”

“Great. So he’s a genius. Fifty points for Ivanclaw.”

“Tony sighed, putting down his screwdriver for a moment. ‘What you need to understand N-Ro, is who you’re dealing with. A teenager. I might be able to help you with that. According to Pepper, I haven’t matured much past one”

“Der’mo”

DOD:What I want to hear, Agent, is why. ROMANOFF:That’s so — American.”

“‘I just want you to know. I’m glad we met. I mean, again. I’m glad you found me Tash’. ‘Technically’, Natasha said gruffly, ‘you found me. ‘Technically’, Ava said simply ‘I found you both'”

Leave a Reply

