Winter by Marissa Meyer Review

untitled (86)TITLE: Winter

AUTHOR: Marissa Meyer

SERIES: The Lunar Chronicles #4

PUBLISHER: Feiwel & Friends

PUBLICATION DATE: November 10th 2015

GENRE: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Romance

FORMAT: Paperback  PAGECOUNT: 827

Spoilers for previous books in the series. Scarlet Review HERE & Cress Review HERE.

Cover- I mean theres not much to say about this cover, its super pretty with the iconic SnowWhite apple.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mark her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.

OVERALL REVIEW

untitled 5 Stars

Ok this is probably going to be a pretty short review because there’s not much to say other than this book was amazing and I loved it! There were over 800 pages and yet I still wanted more.

Winter was a fab ending to a great series filled with action, amazing characters with diversity and many different personalities, healthy relationships and friendships, hilarious banter and a great action packed plot and NO LOVE TRIANGLES!

A whole bunch of people on goodreads kept telling me to take my time and enjoy it and trust me I tried but it was as if I had no control over my eyes and my brain and I just kept on reading chapter after chapter, and even though I went a couple days without picking this up/only reading one or two chapters I felt like I flew through it and the story was over far too quickly. I am definitely going to be picking up Stars Above and Wires & Nerves as soon as possible because I need more from this world and these characters and maybe I’ll pick up Fairest, I haven’t made up my mind yet.

The newest character to this series Princess Winter was a great addition I loved reading from her chapters. Jacin was also great, how he had no loyalty to anyone other then Winter and they make an adorable couple!

Kai was savage in this, he took every possible opportunity to be rude and sarcastic and stick it to Levana. And Scarlett is just amazing too. And the BROTP of Cinder and Thorne is the best thing in the world.

Another great thing about this book and this series is seeing the parallels between this sci-fi retelling and the original fairytellings and seeing those iconic things/moments flipped to be part of this.

So yeah, amazing series, amazing finale I really need to read more from Marissa Meyer because I love her writing style and I’m both sad and happy with the fact that I’ve finished this series! Now its time for me to force my friends to read these books to pass on the amazingness that is the Lunar Chronicles.

QUOTES

 “Yeah, but broken isn’t the same as unfixable.” 

“Did you see any rice in there? Maybe we could fill Cinder’s head with it.”       Everyone stared at him.                                                                                                        “You know, to…absorb the moisture, or something. Isn’t that a thing?”                  “We’re not putting rice in my head.”

“And they all lived happily to the end of their days.”

“I passed out from stress? That’s it?”
“I believe the princess term is fainted,” said Thorne.”  

“I’m going to make it a law that the correct way to address your sovereign is my giving a high five.’ Kai’s smiled brightened. ‘That’s genius. Me too.”  

“Being raised on Luna seems to really mess people up. She wouldn’t be the lovable cyborg we’ve all come to adore.”  

“Scarlet and I are going to start a missing-fingers club. We might let Cinder be an honorary member.”  

“It’s just like the one Scarlet had.” He flipped the gun in his palms, running his thumbs along the barrel. “She shot me in the arm once.”                                             This confession was said with as much tenderness as if Scarlet had given him a bouquet of wildflowers rather than a bullet wound.

“Oh, I fully intend to form an alliance with Luna.” Kai glanced at the cyborg foot again. “I just intend to put a different queen on the throne first.”  

“Leaning forward, Cinder spoke very clearly. “I have a computer in my brain,” she said. “So while I’m not going to tell you that I am the smartest or, by any means, the most experienced person in this room, I would suggest that no one use my youth to believe that I am also ignorant.”

“Yes Kinney?” said Cinder.
“The captain and his crew are requesting an audience.”
“Ha!” Thorne’s voice carried from the corridor. “I told you I could get him to call me the captain.”
Cinder rolled her eyes. “Let them in.”  

“When she catches you,” the guard snarled, “my queen will eat your heart with salt and pepper.” “Well,” said Cinder, unconcerned, “my heart is half synthetic, so it’ll probably give her indigestion.” Kinney looked almost amused.”  

“Thorne, on the aisle, held out his hand as Cinder passed. She snorted and accepted the high five before floating up the stairs.”  

“He growled at her. Scarlet growled back.”  

“Iko, did we break into that guardhouse and broadcast Cinder’s message across all of Luna?”
“Yes, Captain.”
“And, Scarlet, did I rescue you and Wolf when the entire city of Paris was under siege?”
She raised an eyebrow at him. “Actually, I’m pretty sure Cinder-“
“Yes, I did.”  

“What was it about her that attracted razor-sharp claws and teeth? Bullets too, for that matter. This was an android injustice that needed to be dealt with as soon as this whole revolution thing was behind them.”

2 thoughts on “Winter by Marissa Meyer Review

Leave a Reply

