City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare Book Review.

untitled (53)TITLE: City of Heavenly Fire

AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare

SERIES: The Mortal Instruments #6

PUBLISHER: Walker Books

PUBLICATION DATE: January 1st 2014

GENRE: Fantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Romance

FORMAT: Paperback   PAGECOUNT: 638

Possible Spoilers for Books 1-3, (City of Bones, City of Ashes and City of Glass),

City of Fallen Angels or

City of Lost Souls.

Cover: This cover looks badass with dark Sebastian and light and bright Clary and the fire and the city in the background.

Goodreads Synopsis

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

My Review

I chose a great time to read this book, I started this book a week before school ended which meant it was a nice distraction from the few exams I had left to do and I managed to get quite a lot read while in school too, as well as at the beach and pool which does mean this book unforutanly suffered a small amount of water damage making the pages slightly wavy but it gives it that well read look.

I had a great time reading this book, Clary didn’t get on my nerves, Clace actually talked to one another meaning there wasn’t any unnecessary drama between the too and we could focus on the actual plot rather than their stupid problems. I was pulled straight back into the world of the Shadowhunters from the first page.

Cassandra Clare has a very signature writing style with the way she writes these books. She loves her Latin and poems and sarcasm and has a great way of writing dialogue and setting the scene.

I honestly cant believe I have finally finished this series, the last three books were definitely my favourite of the series, mainly because in the last three book Clary wasn’t so annoying. I cant wait to continue on and start the half a dozen other series Cassandra has lined up in these Shadowhunter chronicles, I’m especially looking forward to starting The Dark Artifices series, hopefully very soon. Infact I’ve already started The Bane Chronicles last night before bed.

Spoilers

tumblr_inline_no6w3s2ijE1rifr4k_500

This last book had a great plot to it, I loved the idea of Sebastian invading institutes around the world and turning them into mindless and evil soldiers for his dark army. It was also a great way to introduce Emma Carstairs and the Blackthorns, I really enjoyed reading about these guys, and I wasn’t expecting them to have such a big role in this as they did.

The relationships between characters were on point in this final book:
Simon and Clary friendship strong, I loved it when Simon got drunk off the dodgy blood and began shouting in the street about his love for Izzy, Clary was like his wingman and it just made me question why exactly what happened between the two of them in City of Ashes was necessary.

Jace and Alec where great in this, I feel like the other books didn’t show them as much, it was just Alec questioning Jaces’ impulsive decision but in this they acted more like brothers, I mean they share a room!!!
Izzy and Simon where adorable too and thank GOD, Malec got back together and lived happily ever after. I was also happy with the fact that Simon was accepter, mainly by Jace and Alec, into the group, even though Alec walked in on him snogging his sister a fair few times.

The deaths in this book didn’t have much of an impact on me. Jordans death was really unexpected and I just stared at the pages, and Maia was planning on breaking up with him and moved on about a week later with Bat. Raphaels death was a bit sadder, how he wouldn’t kill Magnus so Sebastian killed him instead, I always liked Raphael. I already knew about Sebastian’s death and how his eyes turned back to green, I did feel sorry for Jocelyn though even if I don’t like her much. The death that did hit me the hardest, was when Julian was forced to kill his father who had been Turned, in front of his younger siblings.

The thing that had me the most emotional, tears filled my eyes was whenever the Infernal Devices characters where brought up, like Jessamine and the London institute and anytime Tessa or Will where brought up.
On the upside though, Brother Zachariah!!! Him and Alec where the best things in this book, they were both so funny. I loved seeing Jem back even if he doesn’t go by that name yet. I wish we could have seen him reuniting with Magnus, but I am hoping he shows up with Tessa in TDA.

This book did make me feel bad about how little I’ve accomplished in my life so far. Maureen is a recently turned 13 year old psychopath who’s already the head of the New York clan, and then there’s Raphael who was 14 when he was turned and has accomplished a bunch of stuff, granted he’s been 14 for a few decades but still. Its a case of ‘If your not a murdering psychopath before the age of 16 you’re doing something wrong with your life.

City of Heavenly Fire was Simons book. He got the girl, he saved everyone’s life, he proved that being a life long nerd can come in handy when your suddenly find yourself in a demon realm fighting your best friends brothers evil army and he made me laugh as always. He’s come so far since book 1 and I cant wait to read all about his Shadowhunter adventures.

Also having sex with your one true love at the WORST possible time must be a trait passed down from Herondale to Herondale. I mean seriously! A lake in a cave in a demon dimension!!!

The second to last thing I want to say is that Mark and Helen deserved better! I know this is most likely setting up for TDA, probably the faeries taking revenge after the Shadowhunters made them agree to unreasonable terms but why did the two eldest Blackthorns have to suffer!!! They better get a happily ever after or I swear to god!!
And lastly the epilogue was great in this. Luke and Jocelyn finally got married, they all hung out at the river together and they were so cute and it made me feel all warm and happy. Clary talked with Tessa. Tessa and Jem together was adorable, Jem stole back his cat! And definitely my favourite part was when Simon looked at Jace and asked “did we .. did I ever bite you”, I read this over and over again!

So yep, I have finished this series. I had pretty mixed feelings but overall I enjoyed it, and I am definitely going to be spending all my money on the future series.

QUOTES

“I did not make a pie,” Alec repeated, gesturing expressively with one hand, “for three reasons. One, because I do not have any pie ingredients. Two, because I don’t actually
know how to make a pie.”
He paused, clearly waiting.
Removing his sword and leaning it against the cave wall, Jace said warily, “And three?”
“Because I am not your bitch,” Alec said, clearly pleased with himself.”

“Did Brother Zachariah just steal our cat?”

“Heroes aren’t always the ones who win,” she said. “They’re the ones who lose, sometimes. But they keep fighting, they keep coming back. They don’t give up. That’s what makes them heroes.”   

“Clary,” Jocelyn said. “I want you to meet Tessa Gray.”  

“Brother Zachariah,” Isabelle said. “Months January through December of the Hot Silent Brothers Calendar. What’s he doing here?” “There’s a Hot Silent Brothers Calendar?” said Alec. “Do they sell it?”

“You’re pining,” said Jace.
Alec shrugged. “Look who’s talking. ‘oh I love her. Oh, she’s my sister. Oh why, why, why—”  

“Isabelle!” he called again. “Let down your raven hair!’
“Oh my God,” Clary muttered. “There was something in that blood Raphael gave you, wasn’t there? I’m going to kill him.”  

“Herondales.” Zachariah’s voice was a breath, half laughter, half pain. “I had almost forgotten. No other family does so much for love, or feels so much guilt for it. Don’t carry the weight of the world on you, Jace. It’s too heavy for even a Herondale to bear.”

“Your boyfriend’s dead. Thought you should know.”

“Straight people,” Alec declared. “Why can’t they control themselves?”

“It wasn’t sexy,” he said.
“It was a little sexy,” Simon said…
“It wasn’t,” said Alec.
“I had some feelings,” said Simon.”  

“Magnus glared at him out of gold-green eyes. “If I wanted to lie on a couch and
complain to someone about my parents, I’d hire a psychiatrist.”
“Ah,” said Jace. “But my services are free.”
“I heard that about you.”  

“Don’t you think ‘Mark is kind of a weird name for a Shadowhunter?” Julian was saying as Emma approached. “I mean, if you really think about it. It’s confusing. ‘Put a Mark on me, Mark.”  

“Simon hid the fact that he was inordinately pleased by this. “Are we officially boyfriend
and girlfriend? Is there a Shadowhunter ritual? Should I change my Facebook status from ‘it’s complicated’ to ‘in a relationship’?”
Isabelle screwed up her nose adorably. “You have a book that’s also a face?”  

“I don’t think so,” Clary said. “I think maybe she reminded me of you.”
“Because I’m tiny, blonde, and look good in pigtails?”  

“Simon was looking at Jace as if he were both fascinating and also a little alarming. ‘Did I–did we ever–did I bite you?’
Jace touched the scar on his throat. ‘I can’t believe you remember that.’
‘Did we…roll around on the bottom of a boat?’
‘Yes you bit me, yes, I kind of liked it, yes, let’s not talk about it again,’ said Jace. ‘You’re not a vampire anymore. Focus.”

“Emma’s gaze went from Alec to Jace, curious. “Do you worry about him?” she asked Alec, surprising a laugh out of him.   “All the time,” he said. “Jace could get himself killed putting his pants on in the morning. Being his parabatai is a full-time job.”

“Better to love and fear than feel nothing”

“He remembered Tessa weeping in his arms in Paris, and thinking that he had never known the loss she felt, because he had never loved like she had, and that he was afraid that someday he would, and like Tessa he would lose his mortal love. And that it was better to be the one who died than the one who lived on. He had dismissed that, later, as a morbid fantasy, and had not remembered it again until Alec.”  

“His eyes were green.”  

“In D&D, my first move, when you’re dealing with an opposing army like that, would be to lure away a group of them-say five-and take their clothes.”                                  “Is this so they have to go back to the fortress naked and their embarrassment will negatively affect morale?” Said Jace. “Because that seems complicated.”  

“You know Jace Lightwood?” said Emma.
“I– What?”
“He’s famous,” Emma said with obvious amazement. He’s the best Shadowhunter. The best.”  

“Mothers,lock up your daughters, then lock up your maidservants, then lock up yourselves. Lord Montgomery is on the prowl”

 

Leave a Reply

