The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater Book Review.

untitled (17).pngTITLE: The Raven King

AUTHOR: Maggie Stiefvater

SERIES: The Raven Cycle #4

PUBLICATION DATE: April 26th 2016

PUBLISHER: Scholastic Press 

GENRE: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Romance

FORMAT: Paperback  PAGECOUNT: 438

Possible Spoilers for Book 1 The Raven Boys, Book 2 The Dream Thieves & Book 3 Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Cover: Like all the previous books these covers are beautiful.  They really fit the magical element and feel of the story, although the spine to my edition is kind of boring compared to the other two, its just more or less white.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

MY REVEIW

untitled 5 (million) Stars

I have Post The Raven Cycle Syndrome. I’m in a state of ‘what the hell do I do now that I’ve finished this series?’. I finished this on I believe it was Monday or Tuesday night and then stayed up looking at things relating to this series and the characters until around 1am. Needless to say I was exhausted when I had to drag myself up the next morning for school but it was worth it.

This book was everything I wanted and more. Fast paced, greatly entertaining, such a fun reading experience, full to the brim with unexpected, adorable and heartwrenching moments, and gave me a fuzzy and happy feeling while reading. The ending to the third book Blue Lily, Lily Blue, left me feeling slightly underwhelmed and I wasn’t as hyped up for this as I had hoped to be for this but that soon changed within the first few chapters.

I’ve said it in every single one of my reviews of this series previously but I feel compelled to say once again that Maggie Stiefvater has a real and pure talent of story telling. She writes in such an entertaining and amusing and simultaneously magical and wonderful way that draws you into the story unfolding on the pages, and I as someone who hopes to venture into writing hopes I’m one day able to write half as good as she does.

There was a possibility of this book being predictable. The fact of Ganseys death was revealed within the first few chapters of book 1 with Blue seeing his ghost, but it was anything but. It kept me guessing and that just made me never want to put this down.

I came away from this book so satisfied with how it ended and yet NEEDING more and infact theres a part of my brain trying to convince me to reread the series from book 1 all over again. I am so ready for The Dreamer trilogy focusing on Ronan which I believe comes out next year but no details have been revealed about it yet. I’ve gone just a couple of days since finishing this and I already cant wait so I have no idea how I would have been able to wait years like some people have.

I’m going to stop here now for the non spoiler section because I have so much to get off my chest and fangirl over which includes spoilers and I highly suggest going into this with knowing the least amount of spoilers as humanly possible.

SPOILER

Phil_Coulson_Spoiler_Alert

I feel the need to start with this because I can get my fangirling out of the way with and continue on with the review like a semi-sane person.

Pynch.

It happened. I loved it. I read and re read the kiss scene a fair few times, I have the chapter page number written down in my notes for when I need to read it again. Funny thing about me reading this chapter was that I’d been reading it in class and ‘accidently’ (totally did it on purpose because I needed to see what happened next. I have no self control) flipped to the next page and saw the words “he’d been his first kiss” and I shut the book close so fast and didn’t read another word till I got home so I could read in my room and grin like a maniac as much as I wanted without being pegged as a psycho. I thought they were so well written and how Maggie wrote it just as any other love story without it being a whole ‘omg they’re gay’ thing, it was just two teenagers falling in love and just thinking about these two makes me happy.

Since we’re on the topic I’m going to jump straight into talking about Adam Parrish. For the past 3 books I’ve just been waiting to see him be genuinely happy and himself and finally that happens. He’s come so far from feeling like a charity case and not excepting anything to literally driving Ronans car in the epilogue and he doesn’t feel bad about it. He became more confident and comfortable with himself, its totally crazy to see how far his character has come from book one and covering all his bruises to going back and confronting his abusive father!

Henry Cheng was a great addition to this cast of characters, I was slightly suspicious of him at first which has been the result of so many new characters betraying everyone but he was great. Ronan and Adam have some serious competition for ultimate Gansey bromance.

In the start of this series I found Declan Lynch to be an annoying and arrogant but I felt totally different about him this time around and felt kind of sorry for him. It must of being hard with a brother who can pull things out of his dreams and another brother who was literally pulled from dreams.

The main plot in this book is that Cabeswater is dying, something is ‘unmaking’ it, and I had so many emotions focusing on what I kind of thought of as ‘murder’ over a forest. I felt feelings while reading about the trees dying and I loved it!

Other emotional things I didn’t enjoy however were:

  1. Ronans reaction to Ganseys death!
  2. Adam being possessed by the demon and trying to kill Ronan and him begging the others to stop him.
  3. Ronan nearly dying and getting calls from Declan who was with Matthew who was going through the same thing.
  4. Mr Grey leaving behind Maura to go and keep away the danger of the mercenaries (who are always so well written and have such personality to them)
  5. Noah being the one who saved Gansey all those years ago while he himself was dying at the same time kind of thing because times all wibbly wobbly timey wimey. (Do the others know it was Noah who whispered to them about Glendower and do they know he’s gone now?)
  6. Ronans mother dying and him being covered in her blood.Santana

So yep, I had tears in my eyes for the majority of this but it was worth it. I loved the epilogue too with Adam going to his parents house, Gansey, Blue and Henry going on a roadtrip (can we get a novella about this please I need information) and Ronan with his daughters, the crow and the half goat girl who he loves so much and I liked how there was set up for Ronans trilogy which if I haven’t mentioned often enough I’m really excited for.

 QUOTES

“Adam smiled cheerily. Ronan would start wars and burn cities for that true smile, elastic and amiable.”  

“No homework. I got suspended,” Blue replied.
“Get the fuck out,” Ronan said, but with admiration. “Sargent, you asshole.”

“His feelings for Adam were an oil spill; he’d let them overflow and now there wasn’t a damn place in the ocean that wouldn’t catch fire if he dropped a match.”

“Making Ronan Lynch smile felt as charged as making a bargain with Cabeswater. These were not forces to play with.”  

“Inside, they pretended they would dream, but they did not. They sprawled on the living room sofa and Adam studied the tattoo that covered Ronan’s back: all the sharp edges that hooked wondrously and fearfully into each other.
‘Unguibus et rostro,’ Adam said.
Ronan put Adam’s fingers to his mouth.
He was never sleeping again.”

“Noah crouched over Gansey’s body. He said, for the last time, ‘You will live because of Glendower. Someone else on the ley line is dying when they should not, and so you will live when you should not.’
Gansey died.
‘Goodbye,’ Noah said. ‘Don’t throw it away.’
He quietly slid from time.”  

“Trees in your eyes … Stars in your heart.”  

“Adam lived in an apartment located above the office of St. Agnes Catholic Church, a fortuitous combination that focused most of the objects of Ronan’s worship into one downtown block.”

“Are you going to lock your shitbox?”
Adam said, “No point. Hooligans got in anyway.”
The hooligan in question smiled thinly.”  

“He was a king. This was the year he was going to die.”

“Wake up, you bastard,” — he said. “You fucker. I can’t believe that you would …”
And he began to cry.”

“She felt one thousand years old. She also felt like maybe she was a condescending brat. She wanted her bike. She wanted her friends, who were also one-thousand-year-old condescending brats. She wanted to live in a world where she was surrounded by one-thousand-year-old condescending brats.”

“It’ll be OK. I’m ready. Blue, kiss me.”

“I take it we’re friends now,” Henry said.
“We must be,” Gansey replied. “Jane says it should be so.”
“It should be so,” Blue agreed.”

“The choice was death or hurting Adam, which wasn’t much of a choice at all.”

“We chose Fox Way. We made it, Calla and Persephone and I. But it’s only your origin story, not your final destination.”  

“Depending on where you began the story, it was about Noah Czerny.”

“Now Blue looked promptly judgmental, which was about two ticks off from her ordinary expression and one tick off from Ronan’s.”

“She was the only person who he could not dazzle, and he loved her for it.”  

“A thought occurred to her. “I don’t have to remind you I’m with Gansey, right?”
“Naturally not. I’m Henrysexual, anyway. Can I take you home?”

“It was 6:21.”

“What do you mean Ronan’s a magical entity? Is he a demon? Because this all makes sense if so.”  

“He was a book, and he was holding his final pages, and he wanted to get to the end to find out how it went, and he didn’t want it to be over.”

“But Adam lingered for a moment after he cast off the covers and stood. Here he was, waking in the Lynch home, wearing last night’s clothing that still smelled of smoke from the grill, having overslept the weight class he had this morning by a magnitude of hours. His mouth remembered Ronan Lynch’s.”  

“Gansey’s phone buzzed.
“Gansey, man, is this diseased tree cutting into your digital time?” Ronan asked.
The fact was the digital time was cutting into his diseased tree time.”

“Ninety percent of how Ronan conveyed his feelings was through his body language, and a phone simply didn’t care.”  

“They were young and loud and triumphant, and the Kings of Henrietta.”

“I’m very busy, aunt,” Henry replied, although he was clearly watching video game walk-throughs in his underwear.”  

Leave a Reply

