The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater Review.

untitled (63)TITLE: The Dream Thieves

AUTHOR: Maggie Stiefvater

SERIES: The Raven Cycle #2

PUBLISHER: Scholastic Books

PUBLICATION DATE:  September 17th 2013

GENRE: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

FORMAT: Paperback      PAGECOUNT: 437

 

Possible Spoiler for book one – The Raven Boys

Cover: Beautiful! The cover artist for this series needs a big pat on the back for these incredible designs. They’re so simplistic and wonderful and colourful and I love it. With the birds flying out of Ronans chest is good representation. My only problem is that I got the wrong edition of this compared to the rest of the series, this one is taller and thinner and has the red rectangle with the title along the spine!

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys – a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface – changing everything in its wake.

 

MY REVIEW

untitled

5 stars

I read this in about four days and with that came sleep deprivation which made it hard to wake up for school and also a serious book hangover which lasted until yesterday, meaning I read absolutely nothing from Saturday (finished this on the Friday/Saturday morning at about 12:30) till Wednesday! And because I have no self control I started book three and bought the final book instead of waiting like I planned on doing.

The second book in this amazing series centres a lot more on Ronan Lynch, an adorable cinnamon roll who swears like a sailor (probably more so infact), has an affinity for ravens, has a tattoo and could probably beat anyone bloody but doesn’t cause he’s sweet under all the sarcasm and death glares. It was amazing reading a book focusing on all of his inner secretes and unravelling the mystery that is Ronan. I feel like we learnt a lot more about him and his family and this unknown ability he has that centres around his dreams. The more I read about him the more excited I got about the upcoming series focusing on him and I know its going to great because Maggie writes Ronan so well.

Maggie Stiefvater has such a way with words. Her writing style is beautiful and imaginative and it goes so well with this story and the setting. I read somewhere that some people think she writes teenagers in an unrealistic way and I can see where they come from. Gansey had been searching for this lost Welsh king since he was at least 15, maybe even before that and I turn 15 this summer and haven’t yet experienced the urge to go hunting for long dead kings. This is Young Adult literature so of course the teenage characters aren’t going to be all that realistic, we read these books to get away from the real world and our realistic problems. That being said though I do feel there’s a sense of realism with these characters, whether it be their playfull banter, Adam stressing over school, Blue’s interaction with her family all make it really life like which is something I love. Another amazing thing I love about this series is that the characters aren’t unnecessarily  whiny and don’t go looking for trouble. Blue for example is the perfect example of this, she’s a level headed teenage girl who thinks things through!

CHARACTERS

Gansey really is the mum of this friends group and I absolutely love it. He fusses over all of them, he’s in a constant state of worry over them all and he only has too look at Ronan and he’ll do more or less whatever it takes. Although because he’s the one keeping them in line, when he goes away Ronan will play as is seen in this book.

Like I’ve mentioned I love Blue, she’s a great character, strong, independent, has great chemistry with everyone and I love her relationship with Maura.

Adam is currently the character who’s most messed up and I just need him to be happy, he needs to smile for and laugh more. One thing that is kind of bugging me about Adam is that I don’t understand why he cant except a loan from Gansey and pay it back after he’s finished school so he can concentrate more or his school work or even if is just staying at Monthmouth and paying rent, that way he’s not getting anything free because he is paying rent and he can contribute to the bills. I do understand its a pride and dignity thing  and I’ve never been in a situation like him so I cant really understand this. I do need him to smile more though because he’s breaking my heart!

I of course love Noah, he’s adorable and sweet and just an all around friendly neighbourhood ghost who has some good scenes in this book which I’ll talk about in the spoiler section.

I think I have a slight obsession with fictional boys who hide how damaged they are with snarky remarks and sarcasm and could be seen as really threatening but in actuality are sweet (Will Herondale, Nico di Angelo etc….). He really is a gentle soul under all those self destructive impulses.

We have two mysterious newcomer characters in this book, Kavinsky and the Grey Man. I actually really enjoyed both of these characters, I loved reading the chapters focusing more on Mr Grey, and Kavinsky was such an odd character and I didn’t know what to expect from him that I really enjoyed it.

SPOILERS

Phil_Coulson_Spoiler_Alert

A ship I don’t want to say in case somehow somebody doesn’t know about it is becoming clearer and I am so happy. I’m kind of annoyed at myself for not being able to resist google and pinterst and I went looking for fan art and stuff of them instead of fully experiencing it. I’m also happy though because I’m pretty sure it was my first time reading the first book, I totally said I ship the two of them but I didn’t think it would actually become cannon and I was so happy about that. I mean character A dreamt of character B multiple times!

My favourite part was when Gansey was on the phone and in the background Ronan and Noah where throwing things out of the window and then Ronan pushed Noah out the window, this is one of those playfull moments you remember that they are just kids.

Some great funny moments with Noah in this book, the window scene, the part where he said his hands were always cold cause he’d been dead for 7 years. I just love Noah, he seems so squishy!

Like I said, I enjoyed Kavinskys character, I was not expecting him to be a Greywaren like Ronan and I didn’t expect him to blow himself up either. I think all those magical drugs he was taking kind of got to him. I don’t know why but I got the impression he had a little crush on Ronan for some reason what with the whole, “your either with me or against me” thing and how he seemed to be kind of obsessed with his relationship with Gansey.

Another surprise to me was Grey Man being a good guy and how well he clicked with Maura. I think it would have been funny in an ironic way though if his name being Grey Man and he dressed in pinks and stuff but that would defeat the purpose of blending in I suppose.

We didn’t really get much more information on who Blue’s dad is, I actually kind of forgot about Artemus, her dad, until it was mentioned. I think I may have spoiled myself for something concerning her mysterious father but I don’t know how it comes about and what way so I’m only really half spoiled, at least until hints are dropped and I make the connection. Besides from that spoiler though I don’t even have any theories surrounding him.

I feel like I missed the part  where Blue and Gansey started really falling for each other, so I was like Woah, when they did the hug thing that would totally have been a kiss thing if it didn’t mean his death. I found it sweet though that they both called each other when they  needed comforting but that’s the only real thing I saw of them two becoming closer.

A few things I wasn’t clear on at the end of this, the first I understand now because it cleared it up for me within the prologue of the third book, I think it was just my tired brain not working at the time. And that was the letter on Maura’s bed, I thought she’d been kidnapped or something.

Another thing I’m curious about is whats going on with Persephone? I am looking forward to finding out more about her and her past, as well as Adam getting himself sorted and smiling more.

QUOTES

“In that moment, Blue was a little in love with all of them.
Their magic. Their quest. Their awfulness and strangeness.
Her raven boys.”

“I am being perfectly fucking civil.”

“So what you’re saying is you can’t explain it.”
“I did explain it.”
“No, you used nouns and verbs together in a pleasing but illogical format.”  

“He hadn’t realized yet that Gansey could persuade even the sun to pause and give him the time.”

“Sometimes Ronan thought Adam was so used to the right way being painful that he doubted any path that didn’t come with agony.”

“Calla readjusted, wrapping the silk around her other thigh instead. “Which one’s he again? The pretty one?”
Blue and Gansey exchanged a look. Blue’s look said, I’m so, so sorry. Gansey’s said, Am I the pretty one?”

“It could kill you,” Maura said.
Then there was the awkward moment that arrives when two thirds of the people in the room know that the other third is supposed to die in fewer than nine months, and the person who is meant to die is not one of the ones in the know.”  

“What do you want, Adam?
To feel awake when my eyes are open.”

Then Maura made something with butter and Calla made something with bacon and Blue steamed broccoli in self-defense.”

“Ronan’s second secret was Adam Parrish.”

“Adam’s response was buried in the sound of the first-story door falling open. Noah slouched in. In a wounded tone, he said, “He threw me out the window!”
Ronan’s voice sang out from behind his closed door: “You’re already dead!”

   “Don’t fucking swear,” Ronan said.”

“It was nothing, but it was Adam Parrish’s nothing. How he hated and loved it. How proud he was of it, how wretched it was.”  

“He left Chainsaw behind, much to her irritation. Ronan didn’t want her to learn any bad language.” 

“I thought you said scrying was a bad idea.”
“It’s like vodka,” Calla said. “It really depends on who’s doing it.”  

“Right, sure. Because there’s no girls in politics! I have no interest. Voting? What? I forgot my apron. I think I ought to be in the kitchen right now, actually. My rolling pin-”  

“Adam looked up at Ronan. “I know it was you,” he said. “I figured it out. The rent.”
He held Ronan’s gaze for just a moment longer, until something inside Ronan unwound and he almost said something.”

“Do you eat all of the men in the family? Where do they go? Does this house have a basement?”  

“Adam, on the other end of the boat, looked extremely unimpressed with Ronan’s lack of heat tolerance. “I didn’t say anything.” “Whatever, man,” Ronan replied. “I know that face. You were born in hell, you’re used to it.”  

“Adam thinks he saw an apparition at his place.”
Ronan eyed Noah. “I’m seeing an apparition right now.”
Noah made a rude gesture”

“He was struck by what a glorious and fearless animal Blue Sargent was, and he made a mental note to tell her that very thing, if she didn’t drown getting whatever the second thing was.”

“I wish you could be kissed, Jane,” he said. “Because I would beg just one off you. Under all this.” He flailed an arm toward the stars.”

Leave a Reply

