Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas Review

untitled-50(1/2 Spoiler free, 1/2 Spoiler)

TITLE: Throne of Glass

AUTHOR: Sarah J Maas

SERIES: Throne of Glass #1

PUBLISHER: Bloomsbury

PUBLICATION DATE:  August 2nd 2012

GENRE: Fantasy, Magic, High Fantasy, Young Adult.

FORMAT: Paperback   PAGECOUNT: 404

Cover: I love the cover art for this series. Celeana looks badass and dangerous. If I ever write a book featuring a strong and deadly character I’d want Talexi design the cover.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake. She got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

MY REVEIW

untitled (81)

4 Stars.

This was my second time reading this novel after not remembering anything from reading it last January, a period of time where I was more concerned about reading everything than actually paying attention to what I was reading. My first time reading this I gave it 5 stars, but I think that was just me getting distracted by the hype and my rating reflected what everyone else was saying instead of what I felt about it.

The plot of this first novel is pretty basic which makes sense, it was the first book in the series, it was an introduction to the world and characters and setting up for the rest of the series. This was really predictable, and that’s not just me saying this now because I’ve already read it, this was my thought the first time around too but I hadn’t started blogging then. There was no other way this could have ended, it was obvious from the first page who was going to win. And it didn’t take me long to figure out who the bad guy of the story was either so there weren’t really any surprises or shock twists in this novel.

As everyone probably knows the third book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series is coming out very soon and people are getting excited, its a highly anticipated book and while I was reading  this there was some drama kicking off. I don’t really know what’s going on but I got the gist more or less. All I have to say about this drama is that if you haven’t read a book then don’t rate it, if you don’t want to deal with seeing everyone talking about ACOWAR then maybe take a break from Goodreads for the weekend  and don’t insult somebody over their taste in books just because you don’t like them.

I personally enjoy Sarah J Maas’ writing, its easy to read and yet still gives off the high fantasy feel and as someone who occasionally writes fanfiction about Harry Potter and Percy Jackson it inspiring to think that this was once fanfction. I rooted and cheered for and hated and wanted to severely hurt the people I was supposed too, which is always good.

In my opinion Celeana has two sides to her personality , there’s the sweet side of her who likes to feel like a princess with the elegant gowns and who loves books and has like 6 spoonful’s of sugar on her porridge and then there’s the assassin side of her.  The part of her that’s known as Queen of the Underworld, the most feared assassin in all of Adarlan who managed to get to the wall of Endovier where most people only set three feet before they get shot down. As much as I liked seeing a badass character who also wasn’t afraid to show her love for dresses I don’t feel like the deadly assassin side of her was shown off quite as much as it could of. We were told a lot of the time what she could do, how she would escape or kill someone with just two moves but it was never shown so I hope we see her being more deadly and dangerous in the next books.

I felt kind of meh about the love triangle in this, I blame The Infernal Devices for my now high expectations of love triangles. I found Choal to be kind of two dimensional and slightly boring this time around.

I’m looking forward to continuing on with this series. Hopefully this time around I actually will get around to reading Crown of Midnight before I forget the things that happened in here and have to reread it for the 3rd time.

SPOILERS

829bb2a87602d6ac99d3021199cb8e6791bc4db629ee5b83328f54ae64c0a26a

Something I totally forgot about this book was Fleetfoot. Fleetfoot is Celeanas dog, gifted to her by Dorian, and I read this just after that week Book Travelling Thursday which that weeks theme had been Choose a book with a pet, or something like that and I couldn’t for the life of me think of anything. And now this book and then my other recent read both featured a pet and I just sighed in frustration at my blank mindedness. I have a horrible feeling that the king is going to kill it as some sick sort of punishment for Celeana defying an order. If that’s not what happens I have no idea how the puppy is going to fit into the story when the action starts up.

My favourite thing in this book was Choal, captain of the guard, blushing and being uncomfortable when he’s with Celeana on her period and she’s having serious cramps and literally pukes on his feet near enough and he just becomes so uncomfortable, I found it to be such a great scene and I think the monthly cycle should be mentioned more in YA cuase why not?

As I said in the non spoiler part, there was a few predictable things, one of them being that it was Cain who was harnessing the power of the evil creature. I’m not just saying that cause I re read this and saw the signs, I figured this out quickly my first time reading this too so when it was revealed he was the one killing off the champions it wasn’t a shock whatsoever.

This time I leaned more towards Dorian when it came to the love triangle. He just had so much more charisma and personality to him then Choal.

I hope in the future books we see more of Nox because I really liked him and his friendship with Celeana and how he was so amazed when her true identity that it made me smile and I want them to work together at some point.

I’m looking forward to learning more about Celeanas past and learning who Sam is because he was mentioned twice and then that was it, all we got told was that they used to kiss and that he was dead most likely from the same person who betrayed her leading to her being captured and then nothing more came of it. I also cant wait to meet Arobynn, her mentor and the one who took her in.

QUOTES

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

  “How long was I asleep?” she whispered. He didn’t respond.
“How long was I asleep?” she asked again, and noticed a hint of red in his cheeks.
“You were asleep, too?”
“Until you began drooling on my shoulder.”

“No. I can survive well enough on my own— if given the proper reading material.”

“She moaned into her pillow. “Go away. I feel like dying.”
“No fair maiden should die alone,” he said, putting a hand on hers. “Shall I read to you in your final moments? What story would you like?”
She snatched her hand back. “How about the story of the idiotic prince who won’t leave the assassin alone?”
“Oh! I love that story! It has such a happy ending, too—why, the assassin was really feigning her illness in order to get the prince’s attention! Who would have guessed it? Such a clever girl. And the bedroom scene is so lovely—it’s worth reading through all of their ceaseless banter!”

“I wasn’t going to kill him, you buffoon.”

“You’re a girl?”
“Surprising, I know. Everyone thinks I’m older.”

“You could be great. You could rattle the stars. You could do anything if only you dared.”

“I hate women like that. They’re so desperate for the attention of men that they’d willingly betray and harm members of their own sex. And we claim men cannot think with their brains! At least men are direct about it.”  

“No one deserves to be whipped like an animal.”

“When she awoke every morning, she repeated the same words: I will not be afraid.”

“She brought her mouth close to his ear. “My name is Celaena Sardothien,” she whispered. “But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.” She smiled at him as she stood. He just stared up at her, his bloody nose leaking down the side of his cheek. She took the handkerchief from her pocket and dropped it on his chest. “You can keep that,” she said before she walked off the veranda.”  

“I name you Elentiya, ‘Spirit That Could Not Be Broken.”

“Adarlan could take their freedom, it could destroy their lives and beat and whip them, it could force them into ridiculous contests, but, criminal or not, they were stil human. Dying—rather than playing in the king’s game—was the only choice left to him.”

“Very well.”
“Say it.”
“Say what?”
“Say my name. Say, ‘Very well, Dorian.'”
She rolled her eyes. “If it pleases Your Magnanimous Holiness, I shall call you by your first name.”

“This would be her first ball where she wasn’t there to kill someone.”  

“Maps had always interested her; there was something bewitching in knowing one’s precise location in relation to others on the earth.”  

“After that, she’d sworn never to trust girls again, especially girls with agendas and power of their own.”  

Leave a Reply

