Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman Book Review.

untitled (84).pngTITLE: Illuminae

AUTHOR(s): Amie Kaufman and Jay Krstoff

SERIES: The Illuminae Files

PUBLICATION DATE: October 20th 2015

PUBLISHER: Knopf Books for Young Readers

GENRE: Science fiction, YA, Horror

FORMAT: Hardback   PAGE COUNT: 599

COVER: LOVE! That’s my opinion on this cover. I also love how it represents the book itself with its uniqueness. On the hardback edition where the authors names, which you can see in the photo above, are actually printed on clear plastic of the cover jacket. And I just love how they’ve done it so that the naked part of the cover is shown at the same time.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

BRIEFING NOTE: Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes

MY REVIEW

2000px-3_stars-svg 3 Stars.

I’m just going to come straight out with it and say that I was disappointed with this book. There was so much hype surrounding this book when it first came out and again with the sequel Gemina. Partly this is because of the uniqueness of how this story is told which I’m sure you all know is through audio recordings, classified files and interviews, personal messages etc, its all very cool and I was excited to read something in such a format. But to me it fell flat.

This may not have appealed to me as much as it did to others because I hardly read any Sci-Fi fiction novels, its not really a genre I go to. Infact I think the only Sci-Fi like thing I enjoy is Doctor Who and even then when I watch too much in a short space of time I tend to get bored of it and stop watching it for months.

I didn’t really connect to the plot, I got confused a lot and just didn’t really care by the end of it. I’m not clear as too why Beitech attacked Kerenza, the home planet of our main characters, in the first place and that ending confused me even more.

I got mixed up with the characters a lot too, I found it difficult to keep up with who was who, I think I remembered about 4 of them (Kady, Ezra, James and Byron) but that about it.

This is book is surprisingly dark and gruesome. I’m not saying I went into this expecting all rainbows and unicorns but it was a lot darker than I first realized. It took me a while to realize this too because this book is packed to the brim with sarcasm and the next thing I know I was halfway through when I put it down and just kind of went, “wow this is kind of depressing”.

There were a few things I enjoyed about this book. Kady and Ezra were great protagonists. We read about them in their emails and text messages and yet I still connected with the two of them. My most favourite chapters where the footage analysis ones. The person who described what was happening on the security footage was my favourite, I don’t even know their name and yet they may be my favourite character from the book. Kady and Ezra’s romance was sweet they’re both really sassy so I feel sorry for anyone they gang up on together.

I think if I read book number 2 it wont be for a while and I may hold off until I’ve become more familiar with Sci-fi books in general.

QUOTES

“I am frequently underestimated. I think it’s because I’m short.”   

“You deserve every star in the galaxy laid out at your feet and a thousand diamonds in your hair. You deserve someone who’ll run with you as far and as fast as you want to. Holding your hand, not holding you back.”  

“Am I not merciful?”

“Interviewer: So. Tell me about your mother.
Ezra: You’re taping this, right?
Interviewer: Audio only. Camera is faulty.
Ezra: Okay, well for the benefit of the sight-impaired, I am now raising my… oh, dear… yes, it’s my MIDDLE finger at Mr. Postgrad here.
Interviewer: Mr. Mason…
Ezra: Now I’m wiggling it.
Interviewer: Terminating interview at 13:58 on 03/19/75.
Ezra: Look at it wiggl-
-audio ends-”

“What you do when stuff like this happens is you LIVE, you survive it, that’s how you honour the ones you lost.”

“Ezra: And then I said it.
Interviewer; What did he say?
Kady Grant: He said, ‘You picked a hell of a day to dump me, Kades.”  

“I had no idea how safe I was, because I’d never been unsafe.”

“Don’t look at me!”  

“The universe was here before you, and it will go on after you. The only way it will remember you is if you do something worthy of remembrance.”  

Leave a Reply

