City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare Book Review

Cassandra_Clare_City_of_Lost_Souls_book_cover.jpg

TITLE: City of Lost Souls

AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare

SERIES: The Mortal Instruments (#5)

PUBLICATION DATE: May 8th 2012

PUBLISHER: Walker books

GENRE: Urban Fantasy, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

FORMAT: Paperback     PAGECOUNT: 542

Possible spoilers for the first four books. I did an overall review (of sorts) for books 1-3, and a full spoiler free review for City of Fallen Angels

COVER: UGH! I was ashamed to be seen with this cover. I’d be reading and I’d make sure that the cover was away from the eye of anyone nearby. It makes the book look soo cheesy! I stated in my review of City of Fallen Angels that I thought that the was the worst cover but I think this one takes top marks for the worst. I don’t like the colours on the font and I don’t like the bridge or the book models above. (I feel like the first three had okay-ish covers, mildly badass, but then the final three are just blugh!)

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

MY REVEIW

untitled (81).png 4 STARS

I am 5 books down with only one left to go until I have finally finished the Mortal Instruments series!

This was a really entertaining read, and now that I’ve read The Infernal Devices I saw a bunch of Easter eggs that made me grin and in the case of Jace reading to Clary nearly sob!

Once again Clary didn’t do much annoying stuff in this book, nothing stupidly impulsive that made me cringe, and the one rash thing she did do didn’t make me want to strangle her either. In all the previous books I haven’t been all that invested in Clary and Jaces’ relationship, too much angst but they were actually kind of cute in this, which I find funny since one half of them is being possessed (in a way) by the others psychopath brother.

I really liked the dynamic of Clary, Jace and Sebastian it made for some funny moments and as much as I think Sebastian is a total weirdo who needs checking into an insane asylum ASAP, I think he’s funny.

Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood just broke me at the end of this book and this is the first time in this series I’ve wanted to hit Alec for doing something so incredibly stupid. In this case it was him talking with Camille. I was speed reading through these paragraphs because I just couldn’t pay them much attention. And even though they had a bunch of cute moments together them in the epilogue broke me!

A couple of other things I enjoyed in this were Simon and Magnus banter, the fact that its cannon that Izzy steals Magnus’ clothes, and that Magnus has a stash of comic books that Alec reads, Sebastian and Jace BROTP and we saw more of Simon which is always a plus in my opinion and his relationship developing with Izzy and his sister.

I’m looking forward to reading City of Heavenly Fire, I don’t know when that will be though since I have read four shadowhunter related book one after another so I think I need to explore some other worlds for a bit first, but still, I am so ready to finish this series!

QUOTES

“And I don’t see how Sebastian can be all that fond of Jace, either. He was horribly jealous of him all his life. He thought Jace was Valentine’s favorite,” added Clary.
“Not to mention,” Magnus noted, “that Jace killed him. That would put anyone off.”

“Alec,” Magnus said. He put a hand on his boyfriend’s shoulder; Alec was standing still, staring angrily at the floor. “Are you okay?”
Alec looked at him. “Who are you again?”
Magnus gave a little gasp; he looked — for the first time Simon could remember — actually unnerved. It lasted only a moment, but it was there. “Alexander,” he said.
“Too soon to joke about the happy memory thing, I take it,” Alec said.”  

“Church was doing what he often did when dropped – lying on his back with all four legs in the air, pretending to be dead in order to induce guilt in his owners.”

“Now that I’m in your mind, want to see some naked mental pictures of Jace?”

“Isabelle snorted, “All the boys are gay. In this truck, anyway. Well, not you, Simon.”
“You noticed,” said Simon.
“I think of myself as a freewheeling bisexual,” added Magnus.
“Please never say those words in front of my parents,” said Alec.”

“I don’t know who Azazel is,” he said. “Isn’t he the cat from The Smurfs?” He cast about , but Isabelle just looked up and rolled her eyes at him.
“Clary?” he thought
Her voice came through, tinged with alarm. “What is it? What happened? Did my mom find out I’m gone?”
“Not yet,” he thought back. “Is Azazel the cat from The Smurfs?” There was a long pause. “That’s Azrael, Simon. And no more using the magic rings for Smurf questions.”  

“Sweet pea?'” Alec said.
“I was just trying it out.”
Alec shook his head. “No.”
Magnus shrugged. “I’ll keep at it.”  

“He’d burn the whole world down til he could dig out you of the ashes.”

“Clary,” he said. “You saved my life.”
“I stabbed you. With a massive sword. You caught on fire.”
His lips twitched imperceptibly. “Okay,” he said. “So maybe our problems aren’t like other couples.”  

“Scrawny little mundane bastard.”  

“No’ is a magical word,” he told her. “Here’s how it goes. You say, ‘Simon, I have an insane, suicidal plan. Would you like to help me carry it out?’ And I say, “Why, no.”

“She’d rather hoped for something simple, like a lined piece of notebook paper with MY EVIL PLAN written across the top, but no luck.”

“She realized that this scarred, sarcastic boy, was gentle with the things he loved.”  

“Erchomai, it said.
I am coming.”  

“What do you want?”
Jace shrugged. “Clothes mostly, some weapons.”
Sebastion shook his head. “Too dangerous. We need to get in and out fast. Only emergency items.”
“My favourite jacket is an emergency item,” Jace said. It was so much like hearing him talk to Alec, to any of his friends. “Much like myself, it is both snuggly and fashionable.”

“With the whole Mark of Cain thing, does that mean if I accidentally kick you during the night, I get kicked in the shins seven times by an invisible force?”

“Alec looked merely irritated by this comment. “The only way you could raise enough money to hire Magnus by selling lemonade is if you put meth in it.”  

“Blood isn’t love”  

“Screw the Silent Brothers.”
“No thanks. There’s strong and silent, and then there’s just freaky.”
“Isabelle!”  

Leave a Reply

