Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare Review.

untitled (77)(1/2 Spoiler Free, 1/2 Spoiler)

TITLE: Clockwork Princess

AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare

SERIES: The Infernal Devices (#3)

PUBLICATION DATE: (Originally) 19 March 2013

PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster

GENRE: Fantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Steam Punk, Romance, Victorian England, YA

FORMAT: Paperback    PAGECOUNT: 568

Possible Spoilers for book 1, Clockwork Angel and book 2 Clockwork Prince.

Cover: This is my second favourite cover for the series. My first being for Clockwork Prince. I love the colours and in person its shiny and its just beautiful.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS.

Danger and betrayal, love and loss, secrets and enchantment are woven together in the breathtaking finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.  

MY REVEIW

4-5-stars

4.5 STARS.

I have officially finished The Infernal Devices trilogy, after marathon reading them this past month in March! And what a great series that was.

I enjoyed the finale to this series, but it wasn’t my favourite. I felt at the beginning it dragged slightly, where as in the second book I couldn’t get enough. Still it was a really good book, with great writing as always from Cassandra Clare, I actually prefer the writing style in this trilogy compared too The Mortal Instruments.

This book has a reputation for making people sob, and I didn’t really see that at first, not up until the epilogue which is when I balled my eyes out. My parents came into my room and were talking to me about something ridiculous and then my mum saw me crying and just sort of rolled her eyes and pulled my dad away. I started crying the moment I saw the date on the epilogue.

A bunch of good stuff happened with my ships in this book which made me so happy! I am really looking forward to the Last Hours trilogy which I believe is coming out next year and follows the children of this series, so we get to see more Herondales, Fairchilds and Lightwoods, who are basically the three families who always get mixed up in the crazy ‘end of the world stuff’.

SPOILERS

untitled (30)

I want to start off the spoiler section of this review by giving a huge shout out to Charlotte Branwell, the most kick ass woman in this book! She took no crap from ANYONE in this book. She’s running the institute while getting grief about being a woman and having her judgement questioned at every possible moment by that twat Consul Wayland, while making sure her husband doesn’t blow himself up, and taking care of a bunch of teenagers, one who’s ill, one who has no impulse control and another who a psychopath wants to kidnap. And she does all of this while being pregnant! She is my new hero and she so deserved the title of becoming the new Consul.

I loved how this book opened, what with Benedict Lightwood turning into a huge worm and killing his son in law. Personally I thought he got what he deserved, I really didn’t like him.

In this book there are letters, from The Consul to the Council or the Inquisitor, and at first I was really confused because where the first one appeared it had nothing to do with chapter I had just read, but in the end I grew to enjoy reading them. Especially when the Lightwood brothers started ‘spying’ for the Consul, I thought their letters were really funny and they were fun to read.

Whats was being built up from book one, happened in the finale; Jem Carstairs’ death. This didn’t impact me as much as it might someone else because I knew about him turning into a silent brother and his relationship with Tessa in the future. I did really feel for Will though and I liked the way Cassandra revealed Jems death, by Will feeling it.

There was one moment though when I thought Henry was dead, it was in one of the last chapters in the fight against the automatons in the cave and he was thrown on the floor and wasn’t moving. I was terrified because this wouldn’t be the first time Cassandra killed off an adorable and lovable character who didn’t deserve it. Thankfully he didn’t die, he was just paralysed from the waist down, and he was more concerned about making himself an awesome-ass wheel chair.

Who knew the Lightwoods were such flirts? I’m obviously being totally sarcastic here but whatever powers of flirting they had it somehow managed to work. My favourite thing was Gideon just blurting out how if Sophie ascended then they could be married, infront of everyone, and the everybody just paused, Sophie too because he basically had just asked her to marry him without actually asking her to marry him, and it was the best thing in the world. And then there was Gabriel who’s opening line was: “You must really like that horse”, and got rated a 5 on his kissing skills.

Another huge thing that happened was Tessa turning into a flipping angel! I was reading this with my mouth open in shock cause that was so badass! I was mentally screaming both “GO TESSA” and “WTF TESSA!” at the same time. I liked how it wrapped up too, with her being in a sort of comatose state and her coming around when Jem was there and the two of them saying their goodbyes.

Another thing I liked was that Tessa and Will getting together at the end didn’t feel rushed. They didn’t start going out straight away after Jem died because they did both love him and Tessa was engaged to him so I liked that. (Even if they did choose the worst possible time to fall into bed together: held captive by a nut case who wants to marry and breed with Tessa not long after Jem had died).

And then of course, finally, the Epiolgue. Like I said, I was in tears. The moment I saw the date: 2008, I was gone, the flood gates opened. And then Cassandra tortured us with Wills death, him being surrounded by Jem and Tessa, she said Gideon had already died but everyone else was already there. And then it said how Tessa left, not being able to bear watching her children and grandchildren die before she did and how she went to Magnus and kept meeting up with Jem. Thankfully it ended on a slightly happy note with Jem and Tessa full on snogging on the banks of a river but still, it was incredibly heart breaking.

QUOTES

(THERE’S QUITE A FEW BUT  COULDNT NARROW THEM DOWN MUCH MORE!)

 “A very magnanimous statement, Gideon,” said Magnus.
“I’m Gabriel.”
Magnus waved a hand. “All Lightwoods look the same to me.”

“Men may be stronger, but it is women who endure.”  

“You don’t think I can fight.” Tessa said, drawing back and matching his silvery gaze with her own. “Because I’m a girl.”
“I don’t think you can fight because you’re wearing a wedding dress”, said Jem. “For what it’s worth, I don’t think Will could fight in that dress either.”
“Perhaps not,” said Will, who had ears like a bat’a. “But I would make a radiant bride.”  

“Sometimes one must choose whether to be kind or honorable,” he said. “Sometimes one cannot be both.”

“Tessa touched his wrist lightly with her hand. “Be brave,” she said. “It’s not a duck, is it?”  

“Gabriel’s green eyes sought Will. “It was demon pox, wasn’t it? You know all about it, don’t you? Aren’t you some sort of expert?”
“Well, you needn’t act as if I invented it,” said Will.”  

“Bright star,” Magnus said, and his eyes were thoughtful, as if he were remembering something, or someone. “Those of you who are mortal, you burn so fiercely. And you fiercer than most, Will. I will not ever forget you.”

“One does no question miracles, or complain that they are no constructed perfectly to one’s liking.”  

“Their oldest child, James, had spoken laughingly about Will’s unrelenting fear of ducks and his continual battle to keep them out of the pond at the family home in Yorkshire.”  

“Come with me,” she said. “Stay with me. Be with me. See everything with me. I have traveled the world and seen so much, but there is so much more, and no one I would rather see it with than you. I would go everywhere and anywhere with you, Jem Carstairs.”  

“It’s all very romantic,” Gabriel said, and then frowned. “Or it would be, if my brother could get a word out without sounding like a choking frog. I fear he will not go down in history as one of the world’s greatest wooers of women.”  

“With tears running down her face, Cecily had reminded him of the moment at her wedding to Gabriel when he had delivered a beautiful speech praising the groom, at the end of which he had announced, “Dear God, I thought she was marrying Gideon. I take it all back.”  

“Five,’ she said. Her lips and cheeks were flushed, but her gaze was steady.
‘Five?’ Gabriel echoed blankly.
‘My rating,’ she said, and smiled at him. ‘Your skill and technique may, perhaps, require work, but the native talent is certainly there. What you require is practice.’
‘And you are willing to be my tutor?’
‘I should be very insulted if you chose another,’ Cecily said, and leaned up to kiss him again.”

“On a Tuesday night they were wed,
And by Friday they were dead.
And they buried them in the churchyard side by side,
Oh my love,
And they buried them in the churchyard side by side.”
Breaking away from Gideon with some reluctance, Sophie rose to her feet and dusted off her dress. “Please forgive me, my dear Mr. Lightwood- I mean Gideon- but I must go and murder the cook. I shall be directly back.”

“Marry me,” he said. “Marry me, Tess. Marry me and be Tessa Herondale. Or be Tessa Gray, or be whatever you wish to call yourself, but marry me and stay with me and never leave me, for I cannot bear another day of my life to go by that does not have you in it.”  

“…In Paris she found Magnus, who was living in a garret apartment and paiting, an occupation for which he had no aptitude whatsoever. He let her sleep on a mattress by the window, and in the night, when she woke up screaming for Will, he came and put his arms around her, smelling of turpentine.
“The first one is always the hardest,” he said.
“The first?”
“The first one you love who dies,” he said. “It gets easier, after.”

“Will’s Father’s gaze went immediately to Gabriel, and then to Cecily, his eyes narrowing.
“And who is this gentlemen?”
Will’s grin widened.
“Oh him,” he said. “This is Cecliy’s friend, Mr. Gabriel Lightworm.”
Gabriel, half in the act of stretching his hand to greet Mr. Herondale, froze in horror.
“Lightwood,” he sputtered. “Gabriel Lightwood.”

“Mr. Lightwood,” she said, raising herself up on her elbows. “Are those scones under your bed?”  

“Eventually I fell asleep in the Rabies and Lycanthropy section. Woolsey bites on occasion, and I’m concerned.’ – Magnus Bane”

“I shall!” Henry tossed the bonnet over his shoulder and picked up a round glass jar of a sparkling substance. “This is a powder that when applied to the air causes ghosts to become visible,” Henry said. Magnus tilted the jar of shining grains up to the lamp admiringly, and when Henry beamed in an encouraging fashion, Magnus removed the cork. “It seems very fine to me,” he said, and on a whim he poured it upon his hand. It coated his brown skin, gloving one hand in shimmering luminescence. “And in addition to its practical uses, it would seem to work for cosmetic purposes. This powder would make my very skin glimmer for eternity.”

“I will speak out for her case as well,” Gideon said. “After all, I have my father’s place on the Council— his friends will listen to me; they still owe loyalty to our family— and besides, how else can we be married?””What?” said Gabriel with a wild hand gesture that accidentally flipped the nearest plate onto the floor, where it shattered.“Married?” said Henry. “You’re marrying your father’s friends on the Council? Which of them?”

Leave a Reply

