Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare Review.

untitled (76)(1/2 Spoiler Free, 1/2 Spoiler)

TITLE: Clockwork Prince

AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare

SERIES: The Infernal Devices #2

PUBLICATION DATE: (Originally) December 6th 2011

PUBLSHER: Simon & Schuster,

GENRE: Urban Fantasy, Fantasy, Paranormal, Victorian England, YA, Romance

FORMAT: Paperback   PAGE COUNT: 500

Possible Spoilers for Book 1 Clockwork Angel.

COVER: I think this may be my favourite out of all the covers for this trilogy. The colour of the font works so well with the gold that surrounds Jem.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

MY REVEIW

untitled5 Stars

WOW! I loved this book so much! So much so infact that I read this 500 page novel … in 3 days! For some people this may seem like nothing, because there are people out there who have sold their souls and are able to read a huge book in only a few days, but to me it’s a strange but amazing feeling.

I enjoyed book 2, so much more than one, which I felt was a little flat, but this one however sucked me in from page one. Everything was stepped up to 100%, I loved the plot, the way the character arcs, the dialogue and banter, and all this added up to me being totally addicted to this book.

We saw a lot more depth of the characters in this, exploring Henry and Charlotte’s relationship more, (they’re so adorable BTW), we saw more of the Lightwoods in this, and more Magnus Bane too which made me really happy because he’s just so great, and of course this one focuses more on Jem’s feelings and Will’s background.

In this book we see Charlotte getting some heat, mainly from the men, about her position of power, and them thinking that she’s incapable due to her being of the female gender, which isn’t a spoiler because its in the first chapter. But I feel like this book handled women and how they were expected to look pretty, be quiet and take care of the kids and the house well, because the female characters were portrayed so well. They were feminine and yet had a presence and demanded respect and could kick some series ass.

Anyways. I loved this so much. I haven’t had so much fun reading a book in a while until Clockwork Prince. I was reading this every chance that I got, I discovered a very comfy way of having my pillows propped up on my bed and I went through a lot of red liquorice sticks while reading this.

I’m currently reading the final book in this trilogy, Clockwork Princess, and I’m liking it, I’m really glad I decided to pick up Clockwork Prince after finishing the first.

SPOILERS

images (2)

So forbook 1, I didn’t include a spoiler section, I went completely spoiler free, but I just couldn’t this time, because I have too many feelings on the event which unfolded within this novel, the first being the Love Triangle:

If I look back on the books I’ve read, I honestly haven’t read too many love triangle books, other than Hunger Games, Twilight, I guess maybe Vampire Academy could possible be considered but I haven’t really gotten around to it being in full force yet, and also the first two books in The Naturals series, but I’m liking how this one is unfolding.

Its clear Tessa really does love both of them, we saw more of how she feels toward Jem in this one, where as in the first it was more centred on Will, and she we see that she doesn’t want to hurt either of them or pit them against each other. Something I was shocked about though was not only Jem and Tessa getting really (physically) close at one point, but that they’re now ENGAGED! At both of these moments I was gobsmacked. Part of me really wants these two to be happy together, but I also really ship her with Will, I think she brings out the best in him, and its so cute to see them babble to each other about books, (even though all the references to classics go right over my head since I haven’t read any), and now that he knows the truth about his curse he can stop being a douche to everyone and they could be happy!

 Keeping on the topic of Wills curse, I had a theory about this, and I was more or less right. My theory was that there was no curse, which I was right about, but I thought the demon had done it intentionally in a way of ruining his life even more than if their had been a curse. My heart was just breaking for Will when he realised that there had been no reason for him to push everyone who cared about him away since the age of twelve.

I am however grateful for this part of the plot because it provided us with a sort of friendship, well fondness, between Magnus and Will. I loved after Will had been injured an infected by the demon tooth ad he was delirious and Camille returned and so to make her jealous Magnus made out that he and Will were together and he kissed him! One of my favourite scenes from the whole book.

I got introduced to a new ship in this book: Gideon Lightwood and Sophie.  I really like Sophie, she really grew on me even more in this book. Because I have had absolutely no time to write this and I finished this book over a week ago, I am currently reading the finale, Clockwork Princess, and they’re even cuter in this one.

When it comes to Jessamine I was totally shocked at her betrayal and the fact that she MARRIED, the evil backstabber and psychopath Nathanial. While reading the first book, I thought she’d eventually come to see that being a Shadowhunter isn’t all that bad and that she has a home there. And because she is still Jessie I expected her to complain about the gear (maybe design some more fashionable?) and then take her revenge out on Nate by maybe beating him to a pulp or killing him, whichever. Either way it was a nice surprise when she betrayed them all, because I wasn’t expecting it.

There were a few new characters introduced in Clockwork Prince, my favourite being Woolsey Scott, the werewolf alpha. There was just something so amusing about him that I enjoyed reading. I thought Cyril and Bridget were nice enough, kind of a coincidence how Bridgets’ songs seemed to fit whatever situation more or less perfectly, and Cyril made me sad because he just wasn’t Thomas.

I nearly forgot about this but this but there was a few chapters set up in Yorkshire! I’m from Hull which is on he Humber in East Yorkshire so I for some reason got excited about the trip up North.

Another of my favourite moments centred around the exceptionally adorable couple, Charlotte and Henry, who I still for some reason imagine them being a lot older then early/middle twenties. I loved the scene when they realise how much the love each other and that Charlotte didn’t marry Henry just so she could run the institute, and that Henry didn’t marry her to pay off his fathers debt to Charlottes father. Also CHARLOTTE’S PREGNANT! I kind of guessed this when she threw up for seemingly no reason in the warehouse, but I still grinned when it was officially announced.

Benedict Lightwood was a real peace of work. Total pain in the ass. I have no idea how this horrid man could be related too our precious Alec and Isabelle. I did find it funny though when it was said that the Lightwoods like to hang around with downworlders, and I was smiling because of the relationship that develops between a certain Lightwood and a certain cat-eyed warlock. The fact that I had started watching the Shadowhunter TV show didn’t help either.

So yes, I loved this book so much. I read over 200 pages in one day, and it was such an amazing feeling, even if my mum was worried about me because I’d been quieter than normal it was worth it.

QUOTES

“Ah,” said a voice from the doorway, “having your annual ‘everyone thinks Will is a lunatic’ meeting, are you?
“It’s biannual,” said Jem. “And no, this is not that meeting.”

 “It was books that made me feel that perhaps I was not completely alone. They could be honest with me, and I with them.”   

“Demon pox, oh demon pox
Just how is it acquired?
One must go down to the bad part of town
Until one is very tired.
Demon pox, oh demon pox, I had it all along—
Not the pox, you foolish blocks,
I mean this very song—
For I was right, and you were wrong!”

“Jem is nothing but goodness. That he struck you last night only shows how capable you are of driving even saints to madness.”  

“He’s very pretty. For a human.”
“He’s very broken,” said Magnus. “Like a lovely vase that someone has smashed. Only luck and skill can put it back together the way it was before.” 

“We live and breathe words.”  

“Did you just kiss me?” Will inquired.
Magnus made a slip-second decision. “No.”
“I thought-“
“On occasion the aftereffects of the painkilling spells can result in hallucinations of the most bizarre sort.”
“Oh,” Will said. “How peculiar.”  

“You had to know a person well to make them laugh like that.”  

“If I might make a suggestion,” said Will. “About twenty paces behind us, in the Council room, is Benedict. If you’d like to go back in there and try kicking him, I recommend aiming upward and a bit to the left—”  

“I think I may be in love with you, Sophie,” said Will. “Marriage could be in the cards.”

“Jem is my greatest sin.”

“But—but…” Will sputtered.
“Oh, leave it,” said Jem, kicking Will, not without affection, lightly on the ankle.
“She annexed my plan!”
“Will,” Tessa said firmly. “Do you care more about the plan being enacted or about getting credit for it?”
Will pointed a finger at her. “That,” he said. “The second one.”  

“When I think of you, and you are not there, I see you in my mind’s eye always with a book in your hand.” 

Leave a Reply

