Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare Review.

untitled (71).pngTITLE: Clockwork Angel

AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare

SERIES: The Infernal Devices (#1)

PUBLICATION DATE: (This edition published in 2015) August 31st 2010

PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster, 

GENRE: Fantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Romance, Steampunk

FORMAT: Paperback   PAGE COUNT: 479

COVER- I like these covers better than the original covers, and I like the ones for this series over the ones for The Mortal Instruments. I love the spine with the cool design when the series is together and in person its so pretty and shiny.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Magic is dangerous—but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by—and torn between—two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm’s length…everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world…and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.  

MY REVIEW

untitled-59

3.75 stars

Finally I have started on The Infernal Devices trilogy! I am one book closer to being caught up to with the Shadowhunter series. Granted I have a long way to go yet, but its a start nonetheless.

Overall I enjoyed this, but I did think it fell a little flat in the action compartment especially if you take a look at The Mortal Instruments books which are like soap operas with vampires and demons. In a way I enjoyed the toned down side, I enjoyed not reading about incest which isn’t actually incest, which hasn’t happened so far in the story thankfully. But I still would have liked maybe one or two more action scenes.

This was my first time reading something set in Victorian England and I really like that aspect of the book. Granted when a problem came along my mind immediately came up with solutions which  would have been useful had this not been the 19th century. I also liked how Cassandra wrote about women in this story, because obviously women were expected to be something so different back then as compared to today.

The strongest part about this book, as it is most of the time when it comes to the Shadowhunter Chronicles, was the characters. Cassandra Clare has a real gift when it comes to creating personalities for her characters that are so different and unique for each character. I adored Charlotte and Henry, they were adorable, and Henry reminded me of Arthur Weasley, with his inventions and personality and red hair and how he loved his wife.

Three cheers for this book not having and annoying Protagonist. It felt so nice to read about Shadowhunters and yet not have to read about Clary who is the absolute worse at making decisions. Tessa however was a great character to read from, I’m very curious as to what she is and why she is the way she is. I’m anxious about the love triangle I know is going to happen between her and Will and Jem, even though I know how it ends, I just don’t want it to be a thing that makes me cringe with second hand embarresment!

I liked both Will Herondale and Jem Carstairs, they each have a mysterious background, one of them was more opening at revealing it then the other though. This pair of parabatai very much remind me of Jace and Alec, with Will being the reckless one who hides his pain with sarcasm and quotes, and Jem being the one who makes sure his friend doesn’t go and offend too many people.

The amazing Magnus Bane appears in this book, only briefly, but still, everytime he was mentioned I expected Alec to be mentioned too, of course that never happened since Alec Lightwod hasn’t even been born yet, and the too wont meet for another 100 and something years. Because of there being no Alec, it made me go on Instagram and scroll through many, many Mortal Instruments fan pages containing cute and funny headcannons of the two.

I’m very much looking forward to reading Clockwork Prince. I’m currently in the middle of debating whether to just marathon the other two books straight after or to read City of Lost Souls, book number 5 in the Mortal Instruments. Either way I’m on a shadowhunter high, so much so infact that I started watching the show. I’m currently only on episode 5, because I have to take breaks between episodes because I do find it too be kind of cheesy, but I’ve it gets better as it goes on so I’m gong to stick too it.

QUOTES

 “One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”

“Remember when you tried to convince me to feed a poultry pie to the mallards in the park to see if you could breed a race of cannibal ducks?”
“They ate it too,” Will reminisced. “Bloodthirsty little beasts. Never trust a duck.”

“It’s all right to love someone who doesn’t love you back, as long as they’re worth you loving them. As long as they deserve it.”

“Are you implying that shreds of my reputation remain intact?” Will demanded with mock horror. “Clearly I have been doing something wrong. Or not something wrong, as the case may be.”
He banged on the side of the carriage. “Thomas! We must away at once to the nearest brothel. I seek scandal and low companionship.”

“Sometimes, when I have to do something I don’t want to do, I pretend I’m a character from a book. It’s easier to know what they would do.”

“Will rolled up his sleeves. “We’ll probably have to knock down the door–”
“Or,” said Jem, reaching out and giving the knob a twist, “not.”
The door swung open onto a rectangle of darkness.
“Now, that’s simply laziness,” said Will.”

“Black hair and blue eyes are my favorite combination.”

“A little girl robbed you?” Tessa said.
“Actually, she wasn’t a little girl at all, as it turns out, but a midget in a dress with a penchant for violence, who goes by the name of Six-Fingered Nigel.”
“Easy mistake to make,” Jem said.”

“Goodness,” Tessa said to the back of his head. “If you keep seeing Six-Fingered Nigel like this, he’ll expect you to declare your intentions.”

Leave a Reply

