The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater- Reread review. (Non Spoiler)

untitled-71TITLE: The Raven Boys 

AUTHOR: Maggie Stiefvater

SERIES: The Raven Cycle (#1)

PUBLICATION DATE: September 1st 2012

PUBLISHER: Scholastic

GENRE: Fantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, YA, Romance.

FORMAT: Paperback  PAGE COUNT: 421

COVER: I love the cover for this, with the huge raven being the focus, and its so beautifully painted, with the different colours. On my edition, the UK edition, it doesn’t have the three lines behind the title like the one above does and the font is slightly different, but I think this cover does a great job in drawing the eye of a reader.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

Even if Blue hadn’t been told her true love would die if she kissed him, she would stay away from boys. Especially the ones from the local private school. Known as Raven Boys, they only mean trouble.

But this is the year that everything will change for Blue.

This is the year that she will be drawn into the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys. And the year Blue will discover that magic does exist.

This is the year she will fall in love.

MY RATING

4-5-stars

4.5 Stars.

I really like this book. This was my second time reading the first book to the Raven Cycle series and once again this book fully entertained me with its great plot, amazingly interesting and unique characters and relationships and beautiful writing.

I decided to pick this up for a second time because I recently purchased books 2 and 3, of this series, and decided to refresh my memory which I’m glad I did. I finished this about an hour ago, as I’m currently writing this review, and during the last few chapters I had no recollection of ever reading this, and I also noticed a bunch of other things this time around having already known how it ended more or less.

My first time going into this I was a little put off because it wasn’t exactly what I’d been expecting, this time however I knew exactly what I was going into and could sit back and enjoy reading about Blue and her Raven Boys and their search for the Welsh King Glendower. I admit, when it came to the Ley Lines at the beginning it did take a while for me to full comprehend what was going on, but I soon got caught up.

Something I love about this book is the characters. Blue Sargent is the daughter of psychic, but she herself has no divine powers of seeing into the future, she does however have the ability to make things louder, in a way, for other psychics. Blue is the most level headed sixteen year old girl I have ever come across in my short time of reading YA, she is sensible and doesn’t go off making stupid decisions that make absolutely no sense to anybody other then herself, and I found this to be very refreshing.
Her family were also so well written, they made me smile in many scenes and they had great chemistry together.

The Raven Boys remind me of the Marauders from Harry Potter, and this was something I thought my first time reading this too.

In my mind: Gansey is like James Potter, the leader of the group who came from a good background with loving parents and money with no real worries and who’s loyal to his friends who he’s more or less taken under his wing.

Ronan Lynch reminds me of Sirius with a bit more of an anger problem, the rebellious sort who uses sarcasm and wit and rudeness as a defence but is actually a good person deep down, under all the walls he’s built up to protect himself.

Adam Parrish would be Remus, the boy who always looks slightly scruffy, coming from a poorer background then his friends, who prefers to get his school work in on time.

And lastly Noah, who is just so adorable, reminds me of Pettigrew, in his younger days before being corrupted and becoming a backstabbing little douchebag. He’s awkward and shy but his friends would do anything for him.

I’m very much looking forward to continuing on with this series, and seeing more things unfold. I hope to see more interaction between Blue and Ronan because I think those scenes would be so great.

QUOTES

“My words are unerring tools of
destruction, and I’ve come unequipped with the ability to disarm them.” 

  “You are being self-pitying.”
“I’m nearly done. You don’t have much more of this to bear.”
“I like you better this way.”
“Crushed and broken,” Gansey said. “Just the way women like ’em.”   

“If I were a tree, I would have no reason to love a human.”  

“We have to be back in three hours,” Ronan said. “I just fed Chainsaw but she’ll need it again.”
“This,” Gansey replied “is precisely why I didn’t want to have a baby with you.”

“Ronan said, “I’m always straight.”
Adam replied “Oh, man, that’s the biggest lie you’ve ever told.”  

“You missed World Hist.”
“Did you get notes for me?”
“No. I thought you were dead in a ditch.”  

“I guess I make things that need energy stronger. I’m like a walking battery.”
“You’re the table everyone wants at Starbucks,” Gansey mused as he began to walk again.
Blue blinked. “What?”
Over his shoulder, Gansey said, “Next to the wall plug.”  

“Adam had once told Gansey, “Rags to riches isn’t a story anyone wants to hear until after it’s done.”

“Blue tried not to look at Gansey’s boat shoes; she felt better about him as a person if she pretended he wasn’t wearing them.”  

Leave a Reply

