Cress by Marissa Meyer Book Reveiw

[1/2 Spoiler Free, 1/2 Spoiler]

13206828TITLE: Cress

AUTHOR: Marissa Meyer

SERIES: The Lunar Chronicles #3

PUBLICATION DATE: February 6th 2014

PUBLISHER: Puffin Books

GENRE: Sci-fi, fairytale, YA

FORMAT: Paperback   PAGE COUNT: 550

Possible spoilers for books 1 (Cinder) and 2 (Scarlet), full review for Scarlet: HERE.

COVERI love the covers for this series! I love the font and the colours. I don’t really have much else to say about the cover except I bet her arms hurts from all the braiding, I get cramp in my arm after trying to put it into a pony tail.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

In this third book in Marissa Meyer’s bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and prevent her army from invading Earth.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl trapped on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s being forced to work for Queen Levana, and she’s just received orders to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is splintered. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price than she’d ever expected. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai, especially the cyborg mechanic. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

MY RATING

untitled

  5 Stars

I give this book all the stars in the whole entire universe because it was FAN-fricking-TASTIC! Man did I love this book. I am so happy that I finally picked this up because reading this this past week and a half has just made me so happy.

Once again Marissa Meyer has written a book which kept me hooked and obsessed page after page, with her beautiful writing style and amazing characters and plot. I have not been able to put this down, reading it in class using my pencil case to block the view of me reading this instead of doing whatever it was I was supposed to be doing.

It took me no time whatsoever for my mind to be transported back into the world of this great futuristic world and feel right at home with these characters who have so much personality and are so much fun to read from.

This book was filled with just so many amazing scenes and moments, both hilarious and cute as well as intense and emotional. Even after finishing this 2 days ago I spent last night scrolling through a Lunar Chronicles fan account on Instagram and smiling like a doofus before forcing myself to turn it off because I don’t what to be spoiled for what I know is going to be a great but probably traumatising finale to this series.

SPOILER

untitled (30)

So we kicked off this book with a great scene of the whole crew on the Rampion, something that made me smile, because they all have such great chemistry and them all being together was something I’ve been waiting for since reading Scarlett. And then from there we got there we went straight into the crew talking with Cress and then going to save her and I don’t know why but I for some reason thought it would take  while till they went to save her or something.

I was so wrapped in the idea of all of them being together and also by this time not having read anything from Kai yet and I was missing him and his pinning for Cinder, that I was totally not expecting Cress and Thorne to crash land into the middle of the dessert, the idea of this happening to me just makes me squirm, I hate going to the beach in the middle of the summer let alone stranded there with no water and in Cress’ case, no shoes.

 A lot of things were happening at this point in the story which made me feel for poor Cinder, who never actually asked for this and now she’s dealing with the fact that as said above Cress and Thorne are gone, Cinder not knowing if they’re even alive, Scarlet was kidnapped and Wolf is basically dying and then she had to deal with him slipping into a sort of depression like state as well as so many other people depending on her, and the guy she has a huge crush on and probably loves is set to marry her evil aunt who wants to rule the Earth and then kill him.

I loved how the plot twisted together in this, what with Cress being kidnapped, a moment where I was shaking my head and sighing in exasperation because of course Cress would get herself kidnapped, and being sold to Dr Erland and then her coming across Wolf and then Thorne showing up in his usually cute way, and them all finally being reunited together with Cinder joining them too.

Keeping on the topic of them all being reunited: Dr Erland is Cress’ father!!! I had read one page since the last time I updated my Goodreads updates for this but I felt compelled to express my shock of this revelation because I did NOT see that coming! And then of course because nobody can be happy in fictional worlds he goes and get Letumotis at the end and dies while having words with Levana, and singing a nursery rhyme. This scene really made my eyes water!

My favourite scenes by far were when they were kidnapping Kai, it all just worked so well and I was grinning through it all. I loved seeing IKO in her human like body, she’s such a great and unique character. And finally Cinder and Kai were reunited! For me personally this was such an anticipated moment that makes me smile just thinking about it. I don’t what it is about these two that just makes me so happy! Infact I was so looking forward to their coming face to face again, that I turned off the tv show I was watching because I was staring at this book which was on my bed and not paying attention to what was going on.

I’m glad we got to meet Winter, I kind of forgot about her for some reason while I was reading this until she showed up. Its unfortunate that we get to meet her while Scarlet is being tortured though. In every book theres always that one character that goes through something terrible which they really don’t deserve and that fell on Scarlett in this book.

I’m very much looking forward to reading Winter but I’m going to put it off for a while cause I just don’t want this to end, and have to say bye to all these characters.

CHARACTERS

 DR ERLAND – I didn’t really trust the doctor all to much in this, and I believe I had a similar feeling while reading about him in Cinder. Turns out he was a good guy though just trying to make amends for what he’d done in his past.

TORIN- He really annoyed me in the first two books, I wasn’t particularly fond of him but he kind of redeemed himself  in my eyes when he told Cinder about his other tracking chip.

WOLF- Wolf is such a god damn cutie! A cutie that rips out necks with his teeth but a cutie none the less. He cares so much for Scarlett and I think they could be coming a very close second for most adorable couple in his series.

CRESS- I found Cress to be such a relatable character in this. She’s obsessed with ‘net dramas’, was in love with a guy she’d practically stalked but never actually met, and comes up with things in her head like how she’s a famous singer or world wide explorer. Really loved Cress in this.

KAI- I found Kai to be so cute and funny in this and he didn’t even mean to be, thinking that Cinder was doing everything for him so he wouldn’t have to marry Levana and then him getting rid of the Cyborg draft. He really was pining over Cinder in this and it was ADORABLE!

 THORNE- I really love Captain Carswell Thorne, he has some brilliant witty and sarcastic one liners and I loved how Marissa Meyer made him blind it added to much to this book.

CINDER- I loved how she’s now decided to be a revolutionary instead of a princess, it suits her so much more, and I think it suits her.

SCARLET- We didn’t see much of Scarlet in this, due to the whole been kidnapped and tortured on Lunar thing, so if she doesn’t get so much love and hugs and kicks some series ass in the next book I’m going to fight someone.

IKO- She’s amazing. One of the funniest characters in this series, so many great moments, and I learned that Meyers newst book, which is also a graphic novel follows Iko, so I guess I’m gonna have to read that!

QUOTES

“Captain?”
“Yeah?”
“Do you think it was destiny that brought us together?”
He squinted and, after a thoughtful moment, shook his head. “No. I’m pretty sure it was Cinder.”

“All right, Miss Cryptic. What’s the new plan, then?”
Glancing around the room, Cinder tipped up her chin. “It starts with kidnapping the groom.”
Iko’s hand shot into the air.
“Yes, Iko?”
“That is the best idea ever. Count me in.”  

“Iko. My name is Iko. If you don’t stop calling me the ‘ship,’ I am going to make sure you never have hot water during your showers again, do you understand me?”  

“What do you suggest? You clearly know all about this political revolution stuff, so please enlighten me, O wrinkled one.”

“Aaaaw,” squealed Iko. “Did Wold just say he loves Scarlet? That’s so cute!”
Scarlet cringed. “He did not – that wasn’t -” She balled her fists against her sides. “Can we get back to these soldiers that are being rounded up, please?”
“Is she blushing? She sounds like she’s blushing.”
“She’s blushing.” Thorne confirmed, shiffling the cards. “Actually, Wolf is also looking a little flustered -”  

“Because the palace walls have been bleeding for years, and no one else sees it.”  

“You know, when I was a kid, I was tricked into thinking that princesses wore tiaras and hosted tea parties. Now that I’ve met a real princess, I must say, I’m kind of disappointed.”  

“A laugh came from the cockpit and Thorne appeared in the doorway, strapping a gun holster around his waist. “You’re asking the cyborg fugitive and the wild animal to be the welcoming committee? That’s adorable.”  

“Don’t. Open. My control panel,” she said. Releasing Thorne, she shut the plate in her head.
“Then stop going comatose on me!”  

2 thoughts on “Cress by Marissa Meyer Book Reveiw

  1. Nil says:

    I really enjoyed it too.

    I kind of knew Dr Erland was Cress’s father. I think Dr Erland mentioned he had a daughter named Crescent Moon somewhere in Cinder.
    Great review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

