Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes – Book Review.

untitled-31(1/2 spoiler free – 1/2 spoilers)

TITLE – Falling Kingdoms

AUTHOR- Morgan Rhodes

SERIES- Falling Kingdoms #1

PUBLICATION DATE- December 11th 2012

PUBLISHER-  Razorbill

GENRE- Fantasy, Young Adult, High Fantasy, Magic

FORMAT – Paperback   PAGE COUNT-  412

COVER- I like this cover, it really goes with the feel of this book. I cant figure out who the person on the front is though, which character. I like the font, and how it says on the bottom, “Choose your side”.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….

MY RATING

untitled

5 Stars

This book was such a great read.

This year I wanted to try out different books from genres I don’t typically read from, one of them being High Fantasy. In my opinion Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes was such a great introduction to that genre.

 I loved the world of Mytica and the three kingdoms, Auranos, Paelasia and Limeros. Morgan Rhodes did a great job with the world building of this, along with the mythology/religion these people believe in, it was something I really enjoyed reading about and learning the myths.

Another aspect of this book I loved was the writing style, which was so rich and wonderful and it really added to the greatness of the story. If I ever get to meet Morgan Rhodes I’d like to thank her for writing characters who’s names aren’t hard to pronounce, meaning I don’t have to stop on a word and sound it out, or , and I have done this before, write the name into Google Translate for the soul purpose of pushing the speaker icon so I can hear how the names supposed to sound.

When going into this book I didn’t really know what to expect when it came to the plot and overall direction of the book, except for that it revolved around, a princess, a rebel, a sorceress and a prince, which I think made this much more enjoyable.

I am so looking forward to reading the rest of this series. I currently have up to Frozen Tides, the fourth book, and the fifth Crystal Storm was recently released this month. I was contemplating reading the sequel straight away but then I decided to prolong the story and maybe read one book a month or every other month.

 CHARACTERS

I felt really connected with all four of our main characters, Cleo, Magnus, Lucia and Jonas. I felt for them and rooted for them which was great.

A great thing that I enjoyed with this book relating to the characters was the fact that it had a sort of glossary, I believe that’s the word, which had the names and the status of the characters, and they were grouped in which kingdom they came from and also there were the names of a few of the Watchers.

My first thought, when it came to characters was that Aron is a dick. I did not like Aron from the get go. There were so many times in the book where I wanted to physically reach into the book and strangle him.

I felt sorry for Jonas, what he witnessed was horrible, but I didn’t like him much throughout the story, he was filled with so much hate which like I said, he had every right to be but still. He did however win me over in the last few chapters.

I feel like Cleo has already grown so much within this first book, god knows she’s had so much thrown at her already. I for some reason kept imagining her in my mind as having dark hair even though it states many times that she has fair hair. I think Cleo is the character that I am most looking forward to see grow, just for the fact that she has such a kind heart and strong will.

I felt for Magnus so many times. He has so many conflicting emotions going on inside of him and I just want to protect him even though he’s turning into quite a jack ass. I have hope for him though, I’m rooting for him to come out of this dark and twisty place and be an old round decent human being.

I really liked Lucia, I don’t really have much else to say about her honestly, I don’t think she was a big a part of this first novel as the other three main characters even though she was a huge deal at the end. I think it’ll probably Rebel Spring where we see more of her and learn more about her other then her being close to her brother.

Also just on quick note that I made is that there were so many just mean characters in this book!!!


SPOILERS

images (2)

So lets just get something over with: Cleo and Theon. The princess and her guard. I thought their relationship was really cool at the start, he wasn’t happy he’d been assigned to protect her, she wasn’t happy she now had someone constantly following her around, but slowly they grew closer and just as I was about to cry “Insta-love” .. Magnus went and killed him. I felt so sorry for Cleo. I was shocked, and because I hadn’t yet really built up that much of a connection with Theon yet I didn’t get upset except for my eyes welling up slightly, mainly due to Cleo’s reaction.

Another reason Theons death maybe didn’t have much of an impact on me could be due to the fact that I currently ship Cleo and Nic.

Morgan Rhodes just really wanted Cleo to be alone because of course she then had to go and kill of her sister and then her father. Once again it was her reaction which made me feel all the feels.

In my opinion it was pretty obvious that Magnus and Lucia weren’t actually related, I mean they both cared about each other so much, whereas I’m constantly arguing with my brother who’s 4 years younger than me about the stupidest of things like, who gets to sit in what chair for dinner or who started the argument in the first place.

Next Book I’m Looking Forward Too ….

The alliance that I feel is growing between Jonas and Cleo.

Magnus becoming a sweet heart, I know its in there somewhere Magnus!

Cleo becoming badass and her getting used to the fact that she’s now Queen of a conquered land.

Lucia embracing her powers and becoming a kick ass sorceress.

QUOTES

“Even paradise could become a prison if one had enough time to take notice of the walls.”   

“You must continue to believe with all your heart. Sometimes belief is all if takes to make something real.”  

“Then his heart, now broken into a thousand pieces, slowly began to turn to ice.”  

“The truth is only dangerous if it can inflict injury.”  

“Even in the darkest and most cruel person, there is still a kernel of good. And within the most perfect champion, there is also darkness. The question is, will one give in to the dark or the light?”  

“Sometimes you don’t realize how strong you are until you’re tested” 

“Even in the darkest and most cruel person, there is still a kernel of good. And within the most perfect champion, there is also darkness.The question is, will one give in to the darkness or the light?”  

“Lies can make harsh truths less painful. But I believe pain is essential for growth.”  


2 thoughts on “Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes – Book Review.

Leave a Reply

