Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep – Review.

 

untitled-17TITLE-  Touch of Frost

AUTHOR- Jennifer Estep

SERIES- Mythos Academy #1

PUBLICATION DATE-  August 1st 2011

PUBLISHER- Kensington -Teen 

GENRE- Young Adult, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Mythology

FORMAT –  Paperback    PAGE COUNT– 350COVER- This is a pretty generic cover, so I don’t have much to say about it. I like how the sword is used as the T and while reading this I thought the cover model looked like Scarlett Johansson.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

My name is Gwen Frost, and I go to Mythos Academy; a school of myths, magic and warrior whiz kids, where even the lowliest geek knows how to chop off somebody’s head with a sword and Logan Quinn, the hottest Spartan guy in school, also happens to be the deadliest. But lately, things have been weird, even for Mythos. First, mean girl Jasmine Ashton was murdered in the Library of Antiquities. Then, someone stole the Bowl of Tears, a magical artifact that can be used to bring about the second Chaos War. You know, death, destruction and lots of other bad, bad things. Freaky stuff like this goes on all the time at Mythos, but I’m determined to find out who killed Jasmine and why; especially since I should have been the one who died…

MY RATING

3.5 stars.

untitled-59

This book follows Gwen Frost who attends Mythos Academy, a school for the descendants of Amazons, Vickings, Spartans, Valkyries, etc. Except Gwen isn’t like the other Mythos students, she’s a Gypsy and because of this she’s an outcast.

Going into this I didn’t realise this was centred around Norse mythology, with Greek Mythology intertwined and I was pleasantly surprised at this. I feel kind of bad for this book though since I read it after Rick Riordans’ Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor which is also about Norse mythology so it had a lot to live up to.

I enjoyed the way the mythology was incorporated within this book, it was very educational and easy to understand.

At first I felt like this book had a sort of Veronica Mars feel to it, which was stupid of me to think, because I then ditched this book for a couple of days to re watch the second and part of the third season of said show. I found it funny how after I picked this back up again, a couple of pages later it stated how Gwen felt like she was ‘no Veronica Mar’, and this statement was repeated a few more time after.

There wasn’t much action in this until the end and I sat in bed and read the last 150 pages, in a pretty uncomfortable position while my puppy chased my cat through my room, while also needing to use the toilet, but I pushed through because I was fully absorbed in what was going on in the end fight scenes and an hour or so later I emerged from my little bubble with a bad neck but a smile because I really enjoyed that ending.

In this there were plenty of unexpected moment which caught me by surprise. Not in the ‘holy crap I did NOT see that coming how did the author think of that’ way but more in a ‘huh, that’s cool and unexpected and I like this little twist’. And these surprises added to the plot and the overall reading experience.

I recommend this if you want a nice and easy book to read that’s set in an academy with a relatable character and mythology aspects.

CHARACTERS

I applaud the author for the development of these characters, she did a great job writing and creating them.

I related with our main character Gwen so much, she has a different hoodie for every day of the week, she’s a total comic nerd the same way that I’m a book nerd, and I find her sarcasm amusing.

Daphne is the prime example Don’t Judge a Book By Its Cover and I loved that. From the first time we see her to the last she is a totally different person and I loved that! She’s a badass princess who isn’t scared to admit her love for pink.

I don’t like Logan Quinn. There’s something about him that I just don’t like, I find him to be arrogant at times and a lot of his interactions with Gwen end up being kind of awkward and I just don’t trust him for some unknown reason.

QUOTES

These are a few of my favourite quotes from the book and because I only decided I wanted to add this while I was in the middle of writing this so I wasn’t fully prepared but thankfully Goodreads had my back and they had many of the quotes that I enjoyed.

“All right, baby,” Daphne crooned.
“Talk to Mama and tell me all your secrets. . . .”  

“And I was stuck here at Warrior Freaks R Us.”  

“Yeah, well, this Gypsy girl happens to have a grandma who can curse you so bad that your dick will turn black and fall off, so watch your step, Spartan.”  

“That was my favorite dagger.”
She had a favorite dagger? Seriously? And she thought that I was a freak.”  

Leave a Reply

