Magnus Chase & The Hammer of Thor Review – Spoiler Free

untitled-61TITLE: Magnus Chase and The Hammer of Thor.

AUTHOR: Rick Riordan

SERIES: Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard Book 2

PUBLICATION DATE: October 4, 2016

PUBLISHER: Disney Hyperion

GENRE: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Mythology

FORMAT: Hardback   PAGE COUNT: 466

COVER- This cover makes me happy. I love the colours and the way it looks on my shelf next to the firs book. I love Samirah on the cover with Magnus it just looks so badass. The 3rd book better have a cover just as beautiful and badass!

MY RATING- 5 stars.

untitled

Five stars for an amazing book!

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS-

Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon – the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki – and the price he wants is very high.

OVERALL REVEIW

This book filled me with so much happiness while reading it. The sequel to Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer lived up to the first books high standards. I loved being with all these characters again even though I picked this up straight after finishing the first, I loved seeing them all after the events of the first and seeing them face new obstacles. Magnus was just as sarcastic and witty as always and made me smile, I love his sibling like banter with Sam who’s so amazing and badass and if I had so much to do and keep secrete as she did I would end up hiding under my bed all day. Blitz and Hearth are still extremely adorable and can they just be cannon yet?!

Alex Fierro was an amazing addition to the cast of characters. I loved reading about a gender fluid person, I’d never read anything with such a character before and I learned a lot and Alex’s sarcasm and attitude is just amazing!

I really loved the plot of this book. The plot of the last book was great but there were moments of predictability in my opinion. In Hammer of Thor however I was pleasantly surprised by the direction the book was going in, I loved seeing more of Amir and the Thors two goats who hold a special place in my heart, yes that is correct, two goats who are murdered daily and have some serious problems, are some of my favourite side characters.

My heart really went out to Hearth in this book, we learnt more about his past and learnt more about his personality aside from him being the deaf elf who was shunned by his family and wants to learn magic, I felt like him as character really grew. He had to go through some pretty rough stuff in this book and it made me feel for him.

Another character I felt sorry for was Randolph. I don’t like him, but I understand why he’s doing what he’s doing and I feel sorry for all the pain he’s going through.

My only problems with this book is that 1- I kind of wish this was Young Adult, the reason I want this to be YA is because I want to hear these guys swearing, it’s indicated plenty of times that they’ve used ‘colourful’ language and I feel like these guys could be extremely imaginative when it comes to their profanities. I’m also glad this isn’t YA and that younger kids are reading this because it has so much great aspects, like gender fluid characters , and how homelessness is  a problem, and how men can like clothes and fashion like Blitz and how we have Muslim representation too.

My second problem is that I have a nearly a year to wait till the final book comes out. I’m really excited about the final book, especially since Percy Jackson will be making an appearance, something I get so happy about just thinking about it and imagining it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

