Top 2016 Reads.

Out of the 40 books that I read this year I widdled it down to 9 books that were by far my favourite of the year 2016.

These are in no particular order because they were all amazing and I just cant pick one favourite!

1- City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

I read the first four books of the Mortal Instruments series this year and I enjoyed them but the fourth book was by far my favourite so far, I enjoyed seeing the sort of domestic lives of the shadowhunter and we saw more of Simon and it was just such an entertaining read although I am now extremely nervous for the next two books.

cassandra_clare_city_of_fallen_angels_book_cover

2- The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

This book was hilarious. It made me so happy to have another Riordan book to fall in love with. Apollo was an amazing character to read from, he kept me laughing throughout. I also loved hearing about all the other characters, most of who were at college now which made me feel really old even though I haven’t been following the series since the first was published. Cant wait for the sequel coming soon.

untitled-68

3- Croak by Gina Damico

I read this at the start of October for Halloween and spooky type reads. I’d had my eyes on this trilogy for a while and finally picked up the first book. This paranormal book about grimm reapers was such a fun read and I enjoyed it immensely. The main character Lex learns a lot about herself and there were moments when she was a bit annoying but it didn’t impact my feeling about this. I accidently spoiled myself for the ending of the 2nd but I still cant wait to get back to this world.

untitled-38

4- The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I was so looking forward to reading this book and it lived up to its hype. It wasn’t exactly what I was expecting but I wasn’t disappointed by any means. I loved all the characters, I loved the writing style, Noah is just adorable and I plan on continuing this series this year.

untitled-71

5 & 6 – The Ghost Files 1 & 2 by Apryl Baker.

I loved these books. The first book was on Amazon for free and so I got it and read it and loved it. This series is about a girl called Mattie Hathaway who’s in the foster system and she can see ghosts and normally she just ignores them but then she sees a little girl who’d been badly beaten and shot in the head she gets caught up in it all. This series is anything but perfect, for example there’s a lot of possible love interest but these still hold a special place in my heart and I need the next one!

7- Magnus Chase & The Hammer of Thor by  Rick Riordan

Yeah I have both of Riordan’s 2016 published books on here because I’m trash for this world. I read both of the Magnus Chase books this December and I enjoyed the second book SO much! I loved the introduction of Alex Fierro, I’d never read a book with a gender fluid character so it was very education for me, and she was hilarious. I’m not sad though because I have to wait nearly a year for the final book which Percy Jackson is going to make an appearance in!

untitled-61

8- Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

I re read the first and second books in The Naturals series this year, and as much as I enjoyed the first, I liked the second a lot more. This series is basically Criminal minds with teenagers. The characters are all so different and they all work together so well. The plot is so amazing and Barnes sews all the information and clues so well. I hope to re read the third and finally read the finale in 2017 even though I know my heart will be broken.

untitled-51

9- The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

I love this. This book made me so emotional, at the end of this I was weeping at that ending and I haven’t yet read the sequel because I feel like my hearts gonna split in two and I like to shy away from feelings. I loved the cast of character and Liam and Ruby are adorable!!!

untitled-69


Those are my favourite books of 2016. I hope I read even more amazing books this year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

