Magnus Chase& The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan // Book Review (Re-Read)

61qnxxgnlpl-_sx325_bo1204203200_TITLE: Magnus Chase& The Sword of Summer 

AUTHOR:  Rick Riordan

SERIES: Magnus Chase & The Gods of Asgard

PUBLICATION DATE: October 6, 2015

PUBLISHER: Disney Hyperion

GENRE: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Mythology

FORMAT: Hardback   PAGE COUNT: 499

COVERThis cover is so good and I love it so much. When I first got this I was slightly disappointed that it wasn’t the American edition but eventually I came to my senses and eventually realised how amazing this cover it is. Its much bigger than the American version and its taller and the flames look so amazingly realistic and its nice and shiny and I’m so happy that the UK is finally getting decent covers for Ricks Books.

MY RATING- 5 stars

untitled

irst time reading this I gave this 4 stars, re-reading this however I enjoyed it so much more and I have now given this the whole 5 stars and I highly recommend this to anyone and everyone!

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

OVERALL REVEIW-

Since this was my second time reading this I obviously cant review my full on experience of reading this but there are still a few things I want to talk about:

So the first thing I want to do is express my love for this book, first time around I didn’t absorb the characters or the world because I’d just bought a bunch of new books and I was trying to read as much as I could which meant I just wasn’t paying attention to this.
This time however I fully immersed myself within this world and came to love all these characters instead of only thinking how this ‘wasn’t Percy Jackson’, which is true its not Percy Jackson, Magnus isn’t Percy, for example ones dead and the others not. I personally do see a difference between Percy’s and Magnus’ narration, I honestly don’t know how though, it may just be the fact that I know that it’s Magnus and not Percy but who knows.

This book of course contains the main reason we all love Riordans books, besides his great and modern twist on mythology and his ability to write amazing characters: and that is the witty and sarcastic comments and hilarious references.

Recently Rick has becoming such a diverse reader what with his Trials of Apollo series which contains gay relationship and he treats them with the same way as he would any other pairing, which is such a great thing to see especially since he is a middle grade author and so many young people read his books.

In this we see so much representation: Samirah al-Abbas who’s a muslim Valkyrie and it briefly touches on the bullying she got in middle school, we see Blitz who’s a man of colour and who loves clothes and wants to make his own, and Hearth who’s deaf and communicates using ASL and who’s had to go through his own struggles.

The relationships between the cast of characters were as always with these book, so great and so much fun. There’s so much love between them all, I loved seeing Magnus feel at home with them and Sam having to put up with Magnus but she cares about him no matter how much she rolls her eyes and shakes her head, and if you’ve read this I’m sure you ship Blitz and Hearth. I loved how we’ve got some main characters who are a lot older then in previous books, it’s mention that Blitz is 20 years old and I actually thought he was older at first and I just thought it was so nice to see.

While reading this we meet Loki, which isn’t really a spoiler since I’m not saying when or where or why, but when he was in a scene in my head I still imagined Loki as Tom Hiddleston from the movies and also whenever Odin was mention I imagined the guy from the Marvel movies too.

I am now currently reading the second book Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor I’m on page 106 and really enjoying it. I actually picked this up straight away after finishing the first and read just the first chapter and it’s a good reason I stopped myself there because I woke up late the next day for school so who knows when I would have woken up if I’d carried on reading further into the night.

 

Leave a Reply

