The Mortal Instruments Books 1,2 & 3.

Hello people.

So I am currently reading City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare which is book 4 in The Mortal Instruments series and I’m really enjoying it, and since I don’t have much left and I am intending to write a review I thought it would be a good idea to write a small piece about my thoughts on the first three books, since I read these before starting my blog.

(Possible spoilers)

I got the whole series in paper back last year for Christmas after seeing the movie about 5 times and learning that 1) they weren’t planning on making a second movie and 2) that there was a whole lot of books to read.

City Of Bones untitled-17

I first read this in about 2 maybe 3 days, and loved it, the only problem was that because I wanted to read it so fast I kind of didn’t pay attention because, new book nerd me, thought ‘oh I’ve watched the movie, it wont be that different, the only reason I’m really reading this is because I want to have all the information for the next book’.

I was stupid which is why I re read this a few months later.

 

City Of Ashes

untitled-29After re reading book 1 I moved on straight away to this one and I had no idea what was going to happen.

This has so far been my least favourite of the series, and I only gave it 3 stars, there we parts I enjoyed reading where as other times I was forcing myself to carrying on.

I also didn’t like the whole Clace thing because in this book we still thought the two of them were siblings and it wierded me out a bit.

According to my goodreads review I enjoyed the end fight scene, and I liked Simon transitioning from human to vampire. I also thought the way Simon and Clary’s relationship went in this was weird and I was glad they ended it.

City Of Glass untitled-34

I loved reading this book. It was such an adventure and I was left feeling like I’d read more then one book. This was filled with so much action and adventure right from the start.

I enjoyed seeing Clary finally toughen up and seeing Jace open up more and of course Malec.

This book did however break me and this is when I realised that Cassandra Clare really is savage and that nobody is safe. I gave this one 5 stars.

An interesting fact about me reading these first three is that I read these before the new school year started, so when I was in my old class, 1B, and my class had lunch time detention while I was reading these, meaning that for the last of City of Bones and start of City of Ashes I had detention and somewhere in City of Glass we also had detention but I don’t think it was really followed through on.


So there are a few of my thoughts on the first three Mortal Instruments books, I am really loving Fallen Angels and should hopefully be able to finish it sometime this week, I’m not setting an exact date cause I wont stick to it and then I’ll feel bad about not sticking to that schedule, but hopefully it will be soon and I can get a review written.

One thought on “The Mortal Instruments Books 1,2 & 3.

  1. dez | the fun in reading books says:

    I remember loving this series a lot!! Clary and Jace were my favorites back then and I really enjoyed all the books! Well, except the last one for I haven’t read it yet. But I’m glad you’re loving it as much as I did. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

