Silence of Six by E.C Myers – Book Review.

untitled-34TITLE: The Silence of Six

AUTHOR: E.C Myers

SERIES: SOS#1

PUBLICATION DATE: November 5th 2014

PUBLISHER: Adaptive Books

GENRE: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller

FORMAT: Hardback  PAGE COUNT: 368

COVER- I really like this cover I think it really fits the premise of this book, what with the red hoodie which isn’t just there for the cool aesthetic and I like how the back ground looks like computer coding.

MY RATING- 3.75 stars.

untitled (59).png

I enjoyed this book, I loved the premise of the book and I enjoyed that aspect. The reason I didn’t give this 4 stars was because there were times I got confused, I just had trouble keeping up with all the hacker handles an who was who.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS-

“What is the silence of six, and what are you going to do about it?”

These are the last words uttered by 17-year-old Max Stein’s best friend, Evan: Just moments after hacking into the live-streaming Presidential debate at their high school, he kills himself.

Haunted by the image of Evan’s death, Max’s entire world turns upside down as he suddenly finds himself the target of a corporate-government witch-hunt. Fearing for his life and fighting to prove his own innocence, Max goes on the run with no one to trust and too many unanswered questions.

Max must dust off his own hacking skills and maneuver the dangerous labyrinth of underground hacktivist networks, ever-shifting alliances, and virtual identities — all while hoping to find the truth behind the “Silence of Six” before it’s too late.

OVERALL REVEIW-

Like I said I enjoyed this book, it was gritty and entertaining and I wanted to figure out what was going on. I loved the dynamic of the three characters, Penny, Risse and Max, I loved the way the three of them worked together and the banter. Reading this really made me want to be a hacker, it sounds so cool and it amazes me how people can do things like that. When something goes wrong with my computer I just restart it or hope that it’ll work again in the morning.

Reading this has made me want to learn more about famous hackers.

The only problem I had with this book like I said was that I got confused, I got muddled up with who’s hacker handle belonged to who and a few other things, but at the same time it was still faced pace and fun to read.

SPOILER REVIW

So this is going to be a small little spoiler section because I read this a while ago and just haven’t had the time to write the review, but there are things I want to share my opinions on that may ruin your reading experience if you learn about them in advance.

untitled-4

One of the things I enjoyed about this book is how much technology was involved in the presidential debate, it was really modern, and since when reading this the US presidential debate and the internet played a big part of that as well as social media.

Bare with me now, I cant remember the name of Max’s dad, it’s either Bradley or Brandon, I cannot for the life of me remember which of the two it was, it started with Br though, but the point is, is that he was such a chill dude. It was a case of “are you still hacking son? Its ok if you are, I’ll just get the lawyer on the phone tomorrow, better safe than sorry”, he’s just so chilled out and relaxed.

Here in my notes I wrote that Courtney reminds me of Gwen Stacey.

I was very impressed with how easily Max adjusted to being a wanted fugitive. If that was me I would have bee crying and freaking out and I’d be in a constant state of paranoia! Round of applause for Max Stien who’s name by the way sounds like that of an evil movie villain.

Although I watched only 1 episode while reading this I thought of the show on Amazon Prime, called Mr Robot, which centres around hacker things.

I liked the ending of this, I liked how Max got to go back home, I feel kind of sad for him that the whole town knows about his hacker past, I also felt sad for Courtney, her and Max broke up with Max but throughout this whole thing he just sort of forgot about her and started getting feelings for Penny. Which I also enjoyed. I liked how Penny and Max were together, and I liked how their relationship ended up. Friends. I loved the fact that Myers didn’t put these two together immediately, I liked that these two didn’t become boyfriend and girlfriend.


So I finally have this written. I enjoyed this book but I’ve been in a slight slump, I just for some reason forgot how to write a review, so yes I did read this a couple of weeks ago which is why its so short.

Leave a Reply

