Croak By Gina Damico // Book Review

untitled-38TITLE: Croak

AUTHOR: Gina Damico

SERIES: Croak Trilogy

PUBLICATON DATE: March 20th 2012

PUBLISHER: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

GENRE: Paranormal, YA, Mystery, Humour, Urban Fantasy

FORMAT: Paperback (Floppy)  PAGE COUNT: 311

COVER – I really love this cover. In person this is nice big floppy paperback that is shiny! The grey-ish white colour that you see from the phot0 is actually silver, it reflects light off of it, you can see your blurry reflection in it’s surface. I also love the simplicity of Lex, the girl on the cover and also the main character, in her hoodie with the Scythe and the font of the writing with the skull fits perfectly with this novel!

MY RATING – 5 stars! untitled

I feel like I am giving so many books 5 stars at the minute but with this, I would give this ten stars if this was possible I loved this book so much and is definitely in my top 3 books of the year, it’s right at the top! Throughout reading this, before I was even half way through I was thinking ‘five stars, can I just rate it now’ but I tried to push the thoughts back down so that I didn’t jinx this book and it end up with a terrible ending. Thankfully it didn’t and it deserves every single shiny star!

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Fed up with her wild behavior, sixteen-year-old Lex’s parents ship her off to upstate New York to live with her Uncle Mort for the summer, hoping that a few months of dirty farm work will whip her back into shape.

But Uncle Mort’s true occupation is much dirtier than shoveling manure. He’s a Grim Reaper. And he’s going to teach Lex the family business.

She quickly assimilates into the peculiar world of Croak, a town populated by reapers who deliver souls from this life to the next. But Lex can’t stop her desire for justice — or is it vengeance? — whenever she encounters a murder victim, craving to stop the attackers before they can strike again.

Will she ditch Croak and go rogue with her reaper skills?

OVERALL REVIEW

Holy crap I loved this book! This book was so addicting it had me hooked from the first page! I could not get enough of this world and these characters, I started reading these in the five minutes between each classes and while the teacher was talking. I loved how Damico took a story like Grimm Reapers and turned it into something so modern and refreshing. I can understand why people have problems with this book, there were times when it was fairly predictable and the character Lex was annoying at the beginning but in my opinion that is what being a Grimm had done to her. It explains in here that they start acting out and getting into all sorts of trouble for no reason, but then when they get to Croak or wherever they’re going to work as a Grimm, they start to go back to normal, and that’s what happened to Lex. It took a while but as she got more comfortable she stopped threatening everyone as much.

I think Lex is going to have so much character development, she’s already changed a lot and I think after everything she’s going to go through she’s going to learn a lot and she’s going to grow up more and I think Driggs is going to be a big part of that, or at least I hope so.

I accidently spoilt myself. And I am so angry with myself. I was skipping through the pages and even though I tried not to my eyes for some reason darted to three words that spoilt a major thing about the plot! So that didn’t have as much of an impact as it could have, I still had a tear in my eye by the end of this but if I hadn’t known what was coming I feel like I would be a blubbering mess.

After finishing this my eyes stung and I hugged this to my chest for a moment or two. I highly recommend you read this if you haven’t already its filled to the brim with humour and it talks about child abuse and puts a light on how sex offenders get off a lot of the time which isn’t right which I think is important but at the same time it’s not extremely over whelming and yet it’s a valuable part of the plot which I think is a good balance.


SPOILER DISCUSSION

Ok it’s a given by the heading of this segment that this will include spoilers of what happens so if you haven’t read it don’t read on!

untitled (30)

So I didn’t take notes for this which means this shouldn’t be really long because I doubt I’ll be focusing on a bunch of certain moments.

The first thing I want to talk about is the relationship between Driggs and Lex. I thought these two were really funny together, I liked how they meet, her walking in on him in the bathroom I thought that was a nice little scene, and I wasn’t expecting there to be a boy living with them. I loved the sarcasm and the banter passed between these two, and it was obvious they cared about each other. I thought the fact that he carried a picture of her twelve year old self around with him everywhere was kind of weird and that a 14 year old had a crush on a twelve year old, I dont know why that’s a problem when I’m fine now with her being 16 and him being 18. I did like the idea of him stealing all the photos of her though and that’s why there was a bunch of frames with nothing in them around the house.

Another thing I found sweet was that Mort had a load of pictures of his nieces in his house and that he sent them cute presents that he probably shouldn’t have because they were from the Grimsphere. Uncle Mort wasn’t what I was expecting at all, I thought he would be an old man who was really grouchy, not this really cool guy wit spikey purple hair who rides a motorbike and uses his basement as a lab and is the freaking mayor! I liked him.

The Afterlife – I loved this idea. I thought it was really well done. One of my favourite things about this book was the Afterlife, I liked it because Elysia was in them scenes most of the time and she was just such a fun character. Also I loved seeing this hilarious back and forth between the presidents and all the other hugely impactful people from history, these scenes made me smile. Also what with the death of a really cool charater that we see at the end I’m hoping we see that person in the afterlife and that person of course is :

Cordy! Sweet sweet Cordy. At first I thought she as going to be really mean to her twin because she was weird and maybe tarnishing her perfect reputation but it wasn’t like that at all they had a really nice bond, Lex broke a bunch of important laws by telling her about the Grimsphere, I dont know how she managed to believe this as fast as she did. Her death was the thing I was spoilt on, I didn’t even read her name the three words I read was “her sister’s murderer”, or something like that and I was like, “ohh it’s going to be Lexs’ sister”, so that wasn’t as sad for me. I liked how it was written though. In the old peoples home and Driggs being confused because the old lady who would have been the most likely victim was still alive until he saw Cordy and told Lex not to look, but of course she didn’t because who would! I really hope Lex gets to go to the Afterlife to see her sister I would love that!

Time to talk about this bitch … Zarah. Once again I at first meeting I misjudged this character. When we first me Zarah in the field I thought they were going to become friends but then when they got back I quickly changed that theory. It wasn’t a huge surprise to me that she was the bad guy, I sort of guessed it, I didn’t however expect her to not be able to damn souls I thought she was being serious about that and that was how she was going to try and get Lex on her side. But instead she clones Lexs’ ability to damn souls which I thought was cool, dont fully understand how she did it, but it was cool none the less.

So in the next books I feel like Lex is going to get a lot of stick for being able to damn souls, I really dont think she’ll be easily accepted since the only other person born with this ability was extremely evil. I want to find out more about Driggs’ background and Morts’ too, as well as seeing more cute Lex and Driggs moments. Lex and Elysia’s relationship hopefully get’s stronger, I liked how when Lex was talking about how Zarah was going to go after her Parents then Mort and she included Elysia in that I thought it was cute. Like I said I want Cordy and Lex in the Alfterlife scenes and I think this mysterious white figure Lex has seen a few times is going to play a role in this. I have a theory who this white figure is but I’m not saying anything encase it’s true and you might get spoilt.


There we go that is my review for this, and what I thought on this fab book. Most of the names have red lines under them because my computer thinks that they’re spelt wrong.

Hope you liked this review, I would love to hear what other people think of this, no spoilers for the rest of the trilogy please and be considerate and put Spoiler Alert or whatever.

I cannot wait to read the next two books.

Bye- Purple Pancakes 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

