Hollow City By Ransom Riggs // Book Talk

untitled-19TITLE: Hollow City

AUTHOR: Ransom Riggs

SERIES: Book 2 – Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children Trilogy

PUBLICATION DATE: January 14 2014

PUBLISHER: Quirk Books

GENRE: Young Adult, Horror, Dark Fantasy

FORMAT: Paperback (FLOPPY!)    PAGE COUNT: 428

COVER: This book has a beautiful cover, infact the whole trilogy has stunning covers, the black and white old vintage photos, I love the title written in what looks like chalk and Ransom Riggs’ name in gold at the bottom. I love how the girl is just not fazed by the gaping whole in her chest and the destruction that surrounds her.

MY RATING: (I just realised that I hadn’t actually rated it on Goodreads yet)

untitled

5 STARS! Such a fantastic book in this fantastic trilogy. I have a feeling the 3rd will also be a 5 star book. It took me so long to read this thanks to school and maths homework and out right exhaustion on my part but I am so happy I finished it today in class. I highly recommend you check this trilogy out.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was the surprise best seller of 2011—an unprecedented mix of YA fantasy and vintage photography that enthralled readers and critics alike. Publishers Weekly called it “an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters.”

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerizing) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages.

OVERALL REVEIW

I loved this book. Ransom Riggs does it again with another brilliant book! The second book in the Miss Peregrines trilogy starts right where the first left off, packed with drama from the very first page. I read the first book back in August and it was actually my first review, it’s pretty bad (I hadn’t set up a system that I liked yet) but you can check it out HERE.

If you read that review, you’ll see that my only real problem with that book was that I found it hard to keep track of all the characters but that was sorted in this book because it contained, an index of sorts, with a small picture of said character along with their name and peculiar ability, which helped a lot when I was reading late at night and my mind wasn’t working 100%.

I loved exploring this world more and being back with all these characters, my favourite being Enoch who’s negativity and sarcasm makes me so happy. You can always count on him for witty one liners and mean comments. I also connected with Bronwyn a lot more in this book. I wrote in my notes how I thought that Emma and Jacob were like the parents and Bronwyn was the nanny/favourite aunt who took care of all the kids, and I still think that description fits perfectly.

The photos once again added so much more to the story and I loved seeing them, and in my edition there was an interview with Riggs where he talked about how the photos influenced the story which I really enjoyed reading.

I am so excited to read the final book but also extremely nervous for my babies!

SPOILER DISCUSSION

Now I don’t suggest you read on if you haven’t read this book yet because we’re going to be going into details of the plot and the characters and all the amazing-ness that filled these pages which you should experience for yourself instead of being spoiled by me 🙂

untitled (30)

Before we fully get into this I just want to say that for some reason I was extremely happy and excited by the fact that Ransom dedicated this to his wife who is the author of the Shatter Me series and I just found it adorable.

I thought Riggs wrote them on the boats really well. I loved how we jumped straight back into where we left off, I thought it was an extremely intense scene and I loved how they were left with near enough nothing, even loosing the map of days.

I loved seeing Jacobs power progress and grow, and how he felt ill whenever he was near a wight. I also loved seeing him not being the one to save everyone on every occasion, in fact I’m pretty sure he only really saved them once or twice, not including the times when he told them about one of them being nearby.

The photo of Addison is by far my favourite in the whole book, I just love it so much and I kept flipping back to look at it and showed it to a lot of my friends. I thought he was such a cool and sophisticated character and I’m certain there was a smile on my liuntitled-29ps the entire chapter he was in. And with that ending I’m sure we’ll be seeing more of him in the third book, but more on that later.

The creatures that Ransom created I have no idea how the hell he did that, like the Emu-Raffe, (half donkey and half giraffe) was so weird and the photo was deeply disturbing to be honest. I loved the Armageddon Chickens and their exploding eggs which were crucial to the plot and saved everyone’s buts on multiple occasions. How does he come up with these things!?

Like I said in my overall review I thought of Emma and Jacob as the parents who told everyone what to do and where always making out and Bronwyn was the nanny, she kept the younger children calm and was firm and protected her family.

Millard is still such a great character and he I love it when he gets all excited, also again like I said in the overall review Enoch is my favourite character, I love reading about him and his witty responses, constant glass half empty attitude and obsession with dead and things, which matches his peculiar ability of course.

I thought Fiona and Hugh were adorable and they match so well what with her plant and flower ability and his bee’s, and their moment in the menagerie was so cute.

I really thought the Gypsies where going to be another obstacle for them to overcome but what a plot twist! The scene of them partying was so uplifting and happy and they seemed so vibrant and full of life which I thought was portrayed wonderfully in writing and I’m glad it was in here. Emma and Jacob danced around and they were all having a good time. I also liked how Millard helped that boy understand what was happening to him because it would be scary if you woke up one morning and were slowly turning invisible. I also liked how Horace was telling their fortunes about their grandson’s grandson living on the moon.

Another thing I enjoyed a lot were Jacob’s dreams or flashes into the future where he saw his parents worrying about him and his uncles standing over his empty grave. I loved seeing a character who leaves his family and it has consequences compared to most protagonists who are orphans or aren’t wanted anyways.

The blind brothers were a really nice edition to the cast of characters and how Bronwyn used them as a weapon in the last few scenes, I thought it was pretty cruel but also immensely cool. I love their peculiar ability of being blind and using the echo thing! Cant wait to read more about them!

I loved how Horace thinks so highly of himself and isn’t ashamed to look good with his fancy jackets and top hats and how he was disgusted by the sweater but wouldn’t mind turning it into a suit jacket. I just love it!

Another thing I liked was Sam, the peculiar they found when they were hiding from the wight. I thought for sure she was going to end up leaving with them or wanting to at least but I was pleasantly surprised when she decided not too, infact the thought never crossed her mind. She wanted to stay with her sister and didn’t think to highly of out main cast of characters anyways after they thought they were better then what they called ‘normals’. I respected her for that.

Ok that time loop was cool and everything with the festival but my god that clown gave me the creeps. I just imagined it in it’s old fashioned clown gear stalking these kids, popping up here and there and even writing this now I’m creeped out. His personality when we got to know him wasn’t much better either, a good reason not to trust clowns! (In my notes all it says is, I don’t like the clown!)

EMMA AND JACOB WERE FIGHTING!!! My heart could hardly handle it. I understood the reason but still, I didn’t want them to fight. I didn’t want Jacob to leave and I didn’t want Emma to push him away either. But like I said I understand. They’re star crossed lovers from different times, even though it’s weird how she dated his late grandfather but their cuteness makes up for the weirdness.

The dream that Jacob had in the last few chapters was so strange and intense I found myself reading it so fast inside my head, my eyes darting from word to word wanting to know what was going on.

Ok now lets talk about Miss Peregrine … NOT BEING MISS PEREGRINE! So I kind of spoilt myself by accidently flipping to that page but I did not expect the bird to actually be her EVIL BROTHER! I was shocked! The guy gives me the heebie jeebies, and I feel like he’s going to be a huge pain! But I’m also glad it wasn’t Miss P because it now gives Jacob a reason to stay yay!

Althea’s death really didn’t effect me all that much, she seemed kind of weird to be honest and she wasn’t part of the story long enough for me to feel anything for her. I thought the way she died was honourable though and I wish she’d done more damage to him.

I am now extremely worried for the well being of Claire and Fiona. They were left behind in the Menagerie loop because Claire came down with the fever and Fiona stayed behind to take care of her. But it was revealed that the loop was raided by Cauls men!

Yayy for Addison! Back to Addison now, who came back looking like he’d gone through hell and saved Jacob and Emma from being captured, waking them up by licking their faces. I am so happy he came back and wasn’t killed I feel like he’s going to be out for revenge now which is exciting! I knew I liked him for a reason!

I thought the reveal of Jacob being able to control and talk to the wights was a brilliant idea and I am looking forward to seeing how that works and what Emma and the others have to say. I hope he uses one as a sort of guard like humans use dogs I just think that would be awesome to see for some reason.

This isn’t really important to the plot or anything but HOW THE HELL DOES JACOBS PHONE STILL WORK! It has been in his pocket the whole trip, it survived being tossed from his boat, diving into the ocean to get to the Menagerie loop, it’s gone from century to century, Jacob threw it into the forest at one point! Mine buffers after falling off the bed only a few feet, sometimes it restarts itself for no reason so I really want to know what type of indestructible phone he has.- I’m kind of glad it does still work though because I liked the conversation between him and his father and like I said it showed the repercussions of him just upping and leaving.

I cannot wait to read the next book and find out how everything ends, how Addison escaped, if the peculiars are going to age forward, what’s going to happen with Emma and Jacobs relationship and also how Jacobs powers progress and what people are going to have to say because I feel like there’s going to be some controversy about it.


There we go, thanks for reading, I hope you liked this, and if you’ve read the book I hope you liked this I’d love to hear what other people thought about this.

Bye – Purple Pancakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

