September Book Haul & Possible Book Buying Ban.

Hello and welcome! hard-grunge-background-tumblr-32366

So today I am going to be doing my September TBR! Yayy! I love doing these.

But first we have much more sad news to talk about: A BOOK BUYING BAN

untitled-35Yes, my mother is putting me on a book buying ban! My mum is one of those mum’s who starts Christmas shopping in September! And yeah, she’s already started. So she asked me for a list of books I wanted and I gave her a list and said just pick a few of those so now she thinks that the books on that list are the only ones I want. I don’t think she knows that there are sequels like Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater, or prequel series like The Infernal Devices and new releases like the new Magnus Chase book.

But I also think this may be a good thing for me. I have a few books on my shelf that I still haven’t read or that I want to re read so since I’ll have no new books to get distracted by I can get started on reading all of those. However I hope I can use all my none existing charm and get her to let me by the new Magnus Chase book and maybe even Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

But anyways lets move on to books I got this month ready for Halloween month in October!!!!


These are the books that I got for October because I want a very Halloween themed TBR for next month.

The first book that I got is:

Croak by Gina Damico.

Finally I got this book! This was one of the first books on my TBR list and I am suntitled (38).pngo happy that I now own this. Also this is a floppy paperback and it is so shiny! It’s like a mirror how shiny it is, I can see my blurry reflection in it. I don’t get why the Half Bad series made their paperback covers black and not silver like this, TAKE NOTES HALF BAD!

Fed up with her wild behavior, sixteen-year-old Lex’s parents ship her off to upstate New York to live with her Uncle Mort for the summer, hoping that a few months of dirty farm work will whip her back into shape.
But Uncle Mort’s true occupation is much dirtier than shoveling manure. He’s a Grim Reaper. And he’s going to teach Lex the family business.
She quickly assimilates into the peculiar world of Croak, a town populated by reapers who deliver souls from this life to the next. But Lex can’t stop her desire for justice — or is it vengeance? — whenever she encounters a murder victim, craving to stop the attackers before they can strike again.
Will she ditch Croak and go rogue with her reaper skills?


The School For Good And Evil by Soman Chainani

Yayy! So many people love this trilogy and I am so excited to start this trilogy. I got the paperback edition of this and it’s like the Percy Jackson ones with the nice feeling cover and the pages remind me of them too. Is that strange? untitled-42

The first kidnappings happened two hundred years before. Some years it was two boys taken, some years two girls, sometimes one of each. But if at first the choices seemed random, soon the pattern became clear. One was always beautiful and good, the child every parent wanted as their own. The other was homely and odd, an outcast from birth. An opposing pair, plucked from youth and spirited away.This year, best friends Sophie and Agatha are about to discover where all the lost children go: the fabled School for Good & Evil, where ordinary boys and girls are trained to be fairy tale heroes and villains. As the most beautiful girl in Gavaldon, Sophie has dreamed of being kidnapped into an enchanted world her whole life. With her pink dresses, glass slippers, and devotion to good deeds, she knows she’ll earn top marks at the School for Good and graduate a storybook princess. Meanwhile Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks, wicked pet cat, and dislike of nearly everyone, seems a natural fit for the School for Evil.
But when the two girls are swept into the Endless Woods, they find their fortunes reversed—Sophie’s dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School For Good, thrust amongst handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.. But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are…?
The School for Good & Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one.
  


ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD by Kendare Blake

Another yay! Really happy to have this book too and it’s another floppy paperback! I cannot wait to read this. So many people love this duology! untitled (52).png

 Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.
So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.                                          

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.
Yet she spares Cas’s life.


HOTEL VALHALLA: GUIDE TO THE NORSE WORLDS By Rick Riordan

I got a new Rick Riordan book! I bought this on Tuesday when I was at Carrefour which is really the only place I can get books right off the shelf instead of the internet, but thereimages-4 isn’t a very large range of selection. But when I saw this yesterday I had to buy it and even though it’s pretty small I’m still super happy.

This is basically a mini dictionary of sorts to help with understanding Norse Mythology and keep track of all the gods but with a funny twist so it’s not like a boring school book. I wish all school text books were written by Riordan they would be so much fun to read!

 


There we go everyone there is my September book haul. I doubt there’ll be a book haul next month like I said, my mum has banned me, but I’m sure I can convince her into letting me get some more.

Hope you liked this. If you’ve read any of these tell me what you thought about them in the comments.

Bye – Purple Pancakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

