The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne Book Review.

untitled-51TITLE: The Wrong Side Of Right

AUTHOR: Jenn Marie Thorne 

PUBLICATION DATE: 17th March 2016

PUBLISHER: Dial (Penguin Random House )

GENRE: Contemporary

FORMAT: Hardback       PAGE COUNT:390

COVER- I bloody love this cover! (I sound so British)  This cover is so damn beautiful. You cant see it from the picture, maybe you can make it out slightly but not in great detail, but there’s a map there which I love and the colours blend into each other so wonderfully. The font is to die for and I love the little love heart. I think the name of the author was well placed and I think the bottom bit of the city adds so much more. I LOVE!

MY RATING-

untitled (52).png

4.75 stars. I LOVED THIS BOOK! Throughout this book I thought it was a 3.75 maybe a 4 at some times, but then the last few chapters seriously made me want to vamp it up to a 5, but I knocked it down by 0.25 since I had rough patches in the middle.


GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?  


OVERALL REVIEW (SPOILER FREE)

I really enjoyed this book, like I said. I loved the whole concept of this book and I thought it was such a unique plot. I loved exploring the process of a presidential campaign since I’m British and all I know about politics is that whenever someone is elected as Prime Minister they’re immediately hated even though the public voted for them, also if you eat weirdly then you most likely not going to win the election.

I thought Kate was such a strong character emotionally and also mentally, it’s not everyday you’re told that your father is a Senator who’s running for president who had an affair with your mother, who died a year ago, and then get thrust into the public eye. I thought she handled it very well.

There is a love interest in this book, but in my opinion I don’t think it’s overwhelming, the story manages the love as well as the politics very well in this.

I cried during this book, not full on wailing and sobbing like I do with some novels, but a few tears did drop down my face, because I felt her pain and it made me think how I would survive in a situation like that, and it’s all I’ve really been thinking about for the past week or so.  It really made you question things and brings up topics like immigration and how they’re still humans and they just wanted to leave a place that was dangerous and wanted best for their family.

Also the relationships are so well written in this book, I think I want something a little more from the Senator, I’m not going too much into that here though, continue on the Spoiler section if you do. I also like Meg and Kate’s relationship I thought that was very sweet. And the twins who are either 10 or 8 I cant remember which, but it’s one of the two, aren’t at all 2 dimensional, even though they’re so young they have layers to their personality which I really enjoyed and appreciated reading about.


If you haven’t read this I highly recommend you go check it out, and come back for the spoilers that I am about to get into.

SPOILER DISCUSSION

images (2)

Ok so let’s jump into some spoilers: I kind of forgot to write notes while I was reading this which I’m really mad at myself for, so we’re just gonna talk about some of the things I remember I was thinking at the time I read it.

First off, ELLIOT IS A JERK!!! – Elliot is the most selfish, egotistical, sometimes pretty sexist, idiotic character I have ever read about! I just wanted to reach through the pages and into this book and strangle him, maybe whack him across the head with a crow bar a few thousand times – I hold a lot of hate for this character if you cant guess. Every time he told Kate to just stand there and don’t say anything, pissed me off. And when he told her to “stand there and look pretty” and also when he called her a slut, I was fuming!

Meg Cooper – I thought Meg was going to be the stereotypical step-mother who wasn’t happy about her husbands infidelities and was going to treat Kate like something she stepped on in the street, (total stereotype, my step mother is actually really nice and helps me make fun of my dad and used to bring me sweets home from work). But actually she was really nice. I thought she handled the situation, which was embarrassing for her especially being in the public eye so much, with pride and dignity, and she embraced Kate and helped her and was much more supportive then Mark.

Gracie and Gabe – I loved these two. I loved how the author didn’t make them just happy go lucky children who like lolly pops and cartoons. Gracie was very interested in the politics and like being involved with that, but she was also pretty insecure when it came to her family and did some stupid things. Gabe was very shy and didn’t like the limelight at all. Even though it took a while for him to warm up to her, I thought his relationship with Kate was adorable, I liked how he stayed behind a lot to comfort her. The twins themselves had a great relationship and I liked how they got Kate to get them soda and other food they weren’t aloud.

I wanted Kate to stick up for herself more. I got hopeful when she grabbed the mic at the start of the book after going through all the things the campaign were throwing at her and I kind of wished she’d stuck up for herself more, maybe even protest the dresses and skirts more, and I really wished she’d acted on the her impulse to punch Elliot.

ANDY!!!! – Ok these two are adorable and are my new favourite OTP! I admit when he was first introduced I knew they were gonna end up getting together, but I seriously thought Andy was going to be a giant ass and just use Kate, but I was wrong, and I am so happy about it. He was so sweet and he made me smile and he made Kate happy. I thought the late night phone calls and the concert they snuck into and the banter when they were at the MTV thing was adorable.

Mark Cooper, ugh! He’s not as bad as Elliot I know, but still! I get he’s in a tough situation he’s running for president and all the last thing he needs is a love child popping up. BUT HE WANTED TO JUST IGNORE HER! TO JUST SWEEP HER UNDER THE RUG! I don’t understand this! I don’t get how someone can just not want to know there own child no matter what. And he just didn’t make time for her what so ever. I did however appreciate the ending, when he made an effort and he started acting fatherly towards her, but yes at the beginning he really pissed me off.

The women who snitched – Wow, what a good friend. Telling the media about how your best friend had an affair with a married senator and birthed his child all so you could further your career.  Bitch!

I had a theory!!! – I had a theory that Louis had a crush on Kate’s mother. That wasn’t the case though 😦

This book made me cry – I started to cry when I realised how much Kate was going through. She was struggling with feeling unwanted, she thought Andy had used her, she thought her best friend and family were going to be deported and she thought it was her fault , Nancy yelled at her and she felt responsible for her being fired, she didn’t fully agree with her father’s views, she was all over the news. She was basically having a meltdown, and I would have two.

Evelyn and Kate – I nearly forgot about this. Evelyn is Marks mother and I found it hilarious how she acted with him, she wasn’t one hundred percent supportive and gave him a hard time while sticking to what she believed in too. Considering she only just met Kate I loved how they got along, she understood Kate was going through some stuff and offered her full support and even offered to let her stay with her on the farm. I wish we’d seen some more of her.

I thought her sneaking out was dope! (Gangsta 😉 )

THAT ENDING!!!- Holy crap I loved that ending. I was grinning like the Cheshire cat while I was reading this. I loved that she went back to the Coopers, even though I knew that was going to be the case anyways, I loved that Mark didn’t win the election and realised there are more important things, I loved the heart to heart between father and daughter. The epilogue made me so happy with Kate and Andy together and at school and kissing and blushing and Kate getting invited by Andy to meet the Prime Minister of England at a White House dinner and how she wasn’t sure about it even though they hang out in the White House living room. She got into Harvard! She has a wall dedicated to Gabe’s drawing in her room, which I thought was adorable. Ugh! I want some novelas!

My Book Hangover – I finished this book a while ago, and I only just picked up a book last night. I was so hung up on this. You can bet that I was imagining myself as the secret child of the president or some other high society person. I just couldn’t get this out of my head and I just wanted to read something similar, so if you have any suggestions make sure to comment them down below.


 There we go. My book review for The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne. I’m definitely going to give The Inside of Out by Jenn Marie Thorne a try since I loved this, The Inside of Out is the other book  she currently has published and I don’t know too much about it other then what I just read which was:  a hilarious, romantic, whip smart young adult novel about your best friend finding love before you do, and the lines you’ll cross to stay part of her life. 

I would love to hear your thoughts on this book, What did you think of the cover? Do you ship Andy and Kate? Do you also think Elliot deserves to go to hell, (and not Supernatural the TV show hell, that place actually looks pretty fun in the newer seasons)?.

I’m glad I have finally gotten this review up and can hopefully hold this book close to my heart but also put it behind me and move on.

Bye – Purple Pancakes 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne Book Review.

  1. dez | the fun in reading books says:

    I know the feels! I didn’t actually think I’d love this book (sooo much!!) until I was hurting for Kate. Mark was kind of a jerk for ignoring Kate but at least he learned a lesson or two along the way. And Meg!!! I thought she was going to be the evil step mother but I was wrong. She was kind to Kate and I actually liked her! Same with the twins! 🙂
    This book was really good that your post makes me want to read it again! Haha. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

