WAYS I’M DISTRACTED FROM READING

I am terrible when it comes to distractions and I’m sure I’m not the only one. At least I hope so.
So I thought that I would tell you guys the different ways I get distracted from reading. I blame most of these bad habits for me not reading as many books as I would like to.

BINGE WATCHING TV SHOWS

untitled (45).png

 I have no self control when it comes to watching a show I love. I go through different moods for what I’m fancying and just marathon whole series.
At the minute I’m enjoying WWE from 2012/13, there’s one I watch where it’s the Spanish commentators talking but I can understand both so it doesn’t bother me, which is bad because each episode of RAW is 3 hours long and I watch loads of it.
And when I’m really into a show, I find it hard to stop watching and go back to reading. If I say, “oh I’ll finish this episode then I’ll read a couple of Chapters”. What happens you ask? THE EPISODE ENDS ON A CLIFFHANGER!!
Obviously it would be very dangerous to my health not to watch the next episode straight away to find out what’s going on!! It’s a vicious cycle I get my self stuck in all too often!


BEING UNCONFORTABLE

imagesR64A1IQX

Trying to read and immerse yourself into this whole different world is an extremely hard thing to do when you’re uncomfortable. I have no place in my house to read really. I normally get my desk chair and put it at the foot of my bed and sit there with my legs on my bed, which is nice for a while (I’m sat like that now) … until my neck hurts and my arse is numb and the lighting isn’t right. And then I move to my bed, pillows propped behind me so I’m sitting up and my head it nice and cushioned … and then the pillows start to slip down further and further, and when you pull the pillows back into place it’s not the same and forget what part you were on, which means you read the same small paragraph over and over again, and in the end you don’t end up reading anything!
SO ANNOYING!


PEOPLE JUST BARGING INTO MY ROOM (Yes mother you!)

untitled (46).png

When you’re trying to read (you’re finally comfy) and things are about to get good when … THE DOOR SLAMS OPEN! Snapping my attention away to the door where my mum has come to ask if I would make her a cup of tea/take dog out/ rub her legs/ wash the pots/what I’d like for tea/ etc.!
It’s so annoying! And then they hover, and I just want to yell GO AWAY! Obviously I cant do that though or else I’ll have my allowance taken away and then how am I supposed to buy books?


WHEN YOU SIT DOWN AND THEN YOUR PARENTS ASK YOU TO DO SOMETHING!

untitled (47).png

How it goes in my house:

Me: Do you need anymore jobs doing mum?
Mum: No, I don’t think so *proceeds to explain what she’s doing , about to do, and why she’s doing it*
Me: Cool, I’ll be in my room reading, I’m at the good bit now, I really want to finish this tonight so I can start my other book tomorrow
Me: *Gets book, gets comfy, starts to read*
(TWO MINUTES LATER)
Mum: ELLIMAI!!!
Me: *sighs* yeah?
Mum: come here I cant hear through walls!
(totally ridiculous by the way, I could hear you just fine)
Me: *goes to where she’s at in the house*                                                                                       Mum:Will you dry those pots for me?
Inside my head: I JUST ASKED IF YOU WANTED ANYTHING DOING AND YOU SAID NO!!!!

I’m not moaning and complaining about doing work around the house, I hoover up, do the dishes set the table etc., I’m not one of those bratty kids who don’t do anything. But how in the hell, is there suddenly ten million things I have to do when I’ve just asked if there’s anything for me to do, and then two minutes later I have loads to do! It just doesn’t make sense.
And then I loose my page and I forget what happens and it’s just annoying.
Also when you’re seeing what you need to do, and parents say, “there will be soon”, but don’t specify when, so you’re just sat around, not wanting to start to do anything in case you get called away as soon as you start!


MY CAT AND DOG

My cat and dog are  the cutest, but most annoying things in the world. I will quickly introduce you to them:

10470790_334686693349643_7208267142649018209_n

The cats called Kit Kat, and the dog’s called Fudge. Don’t get me wrong I love my pets, they’re both so adorable and harmless and lovable. But god there are times I want to sell them!

My dog will just wonder aimlessly around my room, his claws making annoying sounds on the marble floors.

My cat, is so high maintenance, he’ll meow until we fill up his already full bowl with more food because the food already in there just isn’t good enough, he’ll meow at the front door because he wants to go play near the outside stairs for a bit, he’ll attack the dog and they’ll start to play fight, he’ll scratch on the chair I’m sitting on and he’ll come for cuddles.
THE ONLY TIME HE WANTS CUDDLES IS WHEN I’M EATING, GETTING DRESSED, WHEN I HAVE MY LAPTOP ON MY LAP OR WHEN I’M ABOUT TO READ!

He gets his but right in my face and starts to cuddle, and gently nibble on my clothes, like he would his mum because we found him in the street when he was about 4 weeks old, so he’s kind of imprinted on my mum and me, so he does that to us, and he digs his sharp nails into my belly and actually accidently (pft, “accidently, I think he does it on purpose) bite me.
So yeah, it’s hard to read with that going on.


TOO MUCH NOISE

untitled (48)

How am I supposed to read when there are tourists outside my window yelling at their kids, their kids screaming, all of them being obnoxiously loud? How am I supposed to concentrate on my books when the church bells are going off every hour dead opposite my house (no offence against any religion), or when the street performers have there music on loud in the night, sure the fire ones are amazing but that doesn’t give them the right to force everyone in the square to listen to Gangnam Style!
Or when my dad is home and he puts music on loud or turns the volume up on whatever movie or sports he’s watching!


TOO MUCH SILENCE

untitled (50).png

I know I sound like a hypocrite now after ranting about it being noisy, but Silence is just as distracting. I have no idea why but when it’s silent I don’t concentrate, it’s like my ears are listening out for the tiniest bit of noise because the silence isn’t normal. I think I read better with a bit of background noise, maybe with people talking quietly enough that I cant tune into the conversation, but loud enough where it doesn’t make me feel as lonely.


MY BROTHER

12049543_1175195622496259_5633628958833433601_n

I feel a small sense of guilt for adding this. I wasn’t even going to put this, but when I was writing out the list of what I was going to put on here, my brother came in and would not go away. He touches and asks so many questions and talks a lot about Lego and minecraft and the GTA videos he’s watching on YouTube (even though our parents told him not too). I love him but he can be annoying. Also if I’m reading he’ll hover over my shoulder and try and read what I’m reading, he’ll sound out the words in my ear, or he’ll breathe down my neck and ask whats happening and what chapter I’m on and it’s distracting! (I still love him though, I’m a good sister!)


Ok guys there it is, the things that distract me from reading. Homework didn’t make the cut because I would much rather read then do homework, it’s more like reading distracts me from my homework (which isn’t a bad thing until the next morning in class when I have to do it quickly while the teachers talking or convince my friends to let me copy the answers super quickly).

(All photos except the  last one of my brother and the one with the dog and cat, are off google, the other two are off my laptop, I tried to get a photo where you couldn’t really see my brothers face all that much since you never know who’s on this but he’s such a poser it was hard, and my animals are quite bigger now since that’s an old photo)

Ironically enough writing this has kept me from reading today, and since I read nothing yesterday i should probably read some tonight.
Hope you liked this.
Bye – Purple Pancakes 🙂

2 thoughts on “WAYS I’M DISTRACTED FROM READING

  1. judiththereader says:

    I can relate to quite a few of these! Something else that distracts me is my own mind. I sit down with the intention of reading, until my brain wonders and I’m thinking about other things… and then I realise I’ve supposedly “read” about 3 pages and don’t remember a single word of it! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

