GREEK MYTHOLOGY TAG.

It’s August 18th!!! Its Percy Jackson’s Birthday! Percy Jackson is a Greek Demigod! So lets get started with the Greek Mythology Book Tag!

 

I wasn’t tagged by anyone because I’m a loner but this is a Percy Jackson appreciation post and I wanted to do something to celebrate the main character of the series that really started off my reading, and also I find Greek and Roman myths extremely interesting and ant to learn more about Norse mythology. But lets get started:

Zeus – God of sky and Thunder / King of the Gods

Favourite Book (choose your own category)

I have a lot of favourite books, most of which are YA although there area few middle gradeuntitled (19).png novels I’ve enjoyed,   and its hard to pick just one, but at the minute the book that I really , really, really enjoyed was The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.This book has such a cool concept and I was so not expecting it.

Poseidon – God of the Seas and Earthquakes

Book that drowned you in feels.

  The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken wins. I got so invested in these characters and untitled (24)was rooting for them the whole way through the first book. The fact that this book hurt my heart so much is the reason I haven’t read the second one yet. But god I hope they get a happy ending.

 

Hades  – God of the Underworld

Favourite book with dark/ ominous plot

untitled (26)This is Where it ends by Marieke Nijkamp.

Ok this isn’t really my favourite book but I couldn’t think of another answer that fit this question. This book is all about a school shooting and all these kids being held captive within the school auditorium. So many characters die and  it was hard to read sometimes especially when you think that this is a common situation in the world and how everyone’s lives are going to be different because of it. This book also touches subjects like family members being sick, or away at war, it speaks about child abuse and even rape, (although that wasn’t mentioned all that much the author did kind of go around that subject especially after such a big build up)

Hera – Goddess of Marriage and Family

Cutest fictional couple.

SOLANGELO! Will Solace and Nico Di Angelo! Their relationship only really starts in Trials images3FX1ZD8Qof Apollo, The Hidden Oracle but god they were adorable. It helps that I’ve seen head cannons about them and seen cute fan arts. But also Nico is the son of  Hades, god of the underworld, he’s such a big dork under all the black clothes and sadness. Will is the son of the Sun God Apollo, he worries about Nico and he makes him happy and doesn’t hurt him and my Cinnamon Roll Nico deserves to be happy! (I could carry on but i’ll leave it there).

Athena – Goddess of  Wisdom, Handicraft and Strategic Warfare

Series with the best world-building.

HARRY POTTERJk Rowling created such and extraordinary world within this book that changed lives. It’s so amazing that all 7 books have been turned into movies, there’s a 3 series 50 years before prequel about Newt Scamander coming out soon, a play has been made out of it. Its amazing and JK Rowling really has changed the course of childrens literature.

untitled (28)

 

Aphrodite – Goddess of Love and Beauty.

 Most beautiful Cover of 2016 release.

Holy crap this is so difficult. The publishers have clearly upped their game when it comes  to covers. I couldn’t pick one so I picked three:

A study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro- I like the use of colour and simplicity on this cover it looks so beautiful and I cant wait to buy it and add it to my shelf

Starflight by Melissa Landers – I got this book for my birthday and in person its beautiful. The gold is so sparkly and the dust jacket has a really nice feel to it.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – I haven’t seen this book in person but I’ve seen it a lot on booktube and the gold sparkles and it does look really pleasing to the eye.

Ares – God of War and Bloodshed

Most violent book you’ve ever read.

The Naturals series by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

There are more violent books like Hunger Games but these books get inside the killers untitled (32).pnghead and explain why they’re killing and how they feel while they’re killing and it shows the violence. I highly recommend these books, its basically a teenage version of Criminal Minds.

Hephaestus – God of Blacksmiths and Fire

Scorching hot swoon  worthy character.

Jace Wayland. He’s hilarious and sarcastic and really good looking in both the movie and tv show. (I like Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace in the movie better then Dominic Sherwood but I have only watched the first 3 episodes of The Shadowhunters because there was too many spoilers and I haven’t finished the series yet) untitled (37)

 

 Artemis – Goddess of the Hunt and Virginity

Fvourite Kick Ass Heroine

I’m going for under appreciated bad ass-ness here with Lily Evans/Potter. This is the girl untitled (33)who takes no shit from nobody : her bestfriend  calls her a terrible name and treats her badly, she lets hand focuses on the good in her life. She is the girl that put up with the Marauders from the age of 11. This is the girl who stood up to the worlds evilest wizard at the age of TWENTY ONE in order to save her son.

Apollo – God of the sun and healing and poetry and a bunch of other stuff.

A sequel that redeemed the series

The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan. I’m not enjoying this trilogy all that much but I did prefer this one to the first one. The 3rd one I haven’t finished yet so I’m not sure how Iuntitled (38).png feel about it just yet.

 

 

 

Hermes – God of Thieves and commerce.

Book with the best message.

I don’t have a serious, deep meaning answer for this because I don’t feel like iv’ve read enough books so im going for comical:

THE HUNGER GAMES: Don’t let Trump become president!

(I don’t live in the US but I feel for all of you Americans out there, I wish you all the best, May the odds me ever in your favour)

Hestia – Goddess of the hearth and home

Book with the most relatable story

untitled (18)I’m saying Diary of a Wimpy Kid for this one because when I was younger these were pretty relatable:

Fights with the bff, annoying siblings, over controlling parents, going through that 10 year old mid life crisis.

 

Demeter – Goddess of Fertility and Agriculture

Favourite book setting.

The island and the time loop in Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children.missperegrine_334x518

 

Dionysus – God of Wine and Celebration .

 2016 release you are most anticipating.

Once again I cant pick one and so ….

 

A history of notable shadowhunters and denizens of the downworld by Cassandra Clare – this has pictures in it and is like and index to all the shadow hunter characters, some you’ll recognize some are from upecoming stories. So excited to get this and add to my collection of Cassandra Clare books.

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy – this is the bind up of novelas that were previously only in Ebook form. This is told from Simons perspective and there are 10 stories to read. I cant wait to get this too and I can read it as soon as i’m done with the Mortal Instruments.

Bad Blood – the fourth and final book in The Naturals series. So many loose ends and cliffhangers have to be tied up in this book. I’m currently re reading the series in preparation for the last instalment, hopefully it doesn’t rip my heart to shreds and stomp on it then stab it with a knife.

Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor – The edition you see above most likely wont be the edition that I buy but the English addition hasn’t be reveiled yet and since I got the British edition with the first book that’s the edition I’m sticking with for the rest of the series. So excited to read this and be back in Riordans world and hopefully see some of Annabeth and see how telling Magnus her story went.

There we go that is all for this tag. I’m not tagging anyone but if you want to do it then consider yourself tagged. – Purple Pancakes 🙂

 

.

 

Leave a Reply

