On my shelf TBR – August 2016

I have a lot of books that I want to buy but I also have a high amount of books that I already own that I need to read before I start drowning in my own TBR pile. And so now im going to go through all the books currently on my shelves that I need to read and maybe explain why I have not yet gotten around to reading them, hopefully making myself feel less guilty in the mean time. (I’m being optimistic, I have a feeling i’m gonna end up feeling even worse after going through all of them).

Anyways lets get started:p

1- Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

This book is set in the Grisha world, a trilogy I have not yet read, but focuses on different characters and a different plot, which has something to do with a bunch of misfits trying to pull off an impossible heist of some sort.Six of Crows.jpg

I have had this on my shelf since the start of the year but just haven’t picked it up, infact there have been times when I totally forgotten I even own this! I was going to read this month  but I read The Raven Boys instead.

2- An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir.  untitled (18).png

I picked this up from my local book shop not knowing much about it only knowing it was pretty popular and it was on my Goodreads TBR list so I bought it and just haven’t read it yet. – The second book comes out this year and I still don’t fully understand what its about all I know is that it’s set in the world a lot like the Roman empire.

3- Spirit Bound & Last Sacrifice (Books #5 & #6 Vampire Academy)

I read the first four books last year I really enjoyed the first three (Frostbite was my favourite) but book number 4 I didn’t enjoy all that much. I did get about 50 pages into the fifth just before Christmas and then put it down ready for new books I’d be getting  and ust haven’t picked it back up.

I am planning on re reading this series though, I’ve already re read the first book and I really enjoyed it.

4- City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls & City of Heavenly Fire (Books #4 #5 & #6 The Mortal Instruments)

These books are like Soap Operas with demons in them! So many plot twists some were obvious others not so much. I really enjoyed the third one, that’s my favourite so far. I haven’t picked up the last three because first of all these take me so long to get through and I need to emotionally prepare myself for not only all the feels but the amount of stupid decisions some of the charactes make and also I wanna read the at least the first book in the  Infernal Devices Trilogy before getting to these expect I don’t own it so I need to buy it first.

 

 5- Scarlet, Cress, Winter By Marlissa Myers(Books #2,#3,#4 in the Lunar Chronicles Series)untitled (31)

I read the first one and enjoyed it I think I gave it around 4 stars but I cant remember. The premise of fairy tale retellings with a sci-fi twist is so cool and so many people love this series and there’s a graphic novel set in the same world coming out next year (I think its next year) I need to get on with reading the last 3.

6- The Last Olympian (#5 by Rick Riordan

I love this fucking series! This is my favourite series of all time. I have read these books and the Heroes of the Olympus and I love it all. I only bought the physical copies ountitled (32)f PJO not that long ago and I marathoned the first three just before Hidden Oracle came out and when I got that it was the same day I finished the third so I read the new book instead. I recently re read The Battle of the Labyrinth and enjoyed it so much but so many sad things happen I couldn’t put my feelings through reading the last books yet.  I will be reading this soon though infact I may make this my next read.

7- The Serpants Shadow (#3 Kane Chronicles Trilogy) by Rick Riordan

 

untitled (24)

Ok here’s the thing. I read like 90 pages of this inbetween finishing The Raven Boys and my birthday but I just wasn’t enjoying it. The bookmark is still in there for if I get bored and pick it back up and I do need to read this before I read the next book on this list ….

Basically this is part of the Riordan Verse (as some people call it AKA the world were different gods exist) and this one centres around Egyptian gods and magicians. So far I’ve enjoyed the second book the most but only gave that a 4 stars.

8- Demigods & Magicians (Percy Jackson & Kane Chronicles crossover novelas) By Rick Riordan

 

untitled (18)This is my motivation for finishing The Kane Chronicles!!!!

I’ve seen small experts from this and it seems adorable and hilarious and amazing! Its the crossover of Greek mythology AND Egyptian mythology! How epic does that sound!

Its really short so I will be able to get through this pretty fast but like I said I need to get through Serpants Shadow and re read the last PJO book and maybe re read the Heroes of Olympus.

 

 

9-Days of Blood and Starlight & Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Books #2 & #3 Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy) By Laini Taylor.

untitled (28).png

Ok so the reason I haven’t gotten around to reading the last two books is because I have mixed feelings about the first book. For me it was hard to understand because of the writing style was really poetic and it wasn’t what I was expecting. It took me a while to read it and since the other two books are huge it’ll be a while till I read the next two I think.

10-Never Fade & In the After Light (Books #2#3 Darkest Minds Trilogy) By Alexandra Bracken.

untitled (31).png

Ok I have a perfectly good reason as to why I haven’t yet continued on with this Dystopian Trilogy ….!

THE FIRST BOOK BROKE ME 😥

It physically hurt to even consider reading Never Fade after that ending.

(I will be continuing eventually though)

11- A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Mass

untitled (32).pngOk I don’t have a good reason for not having even started this.It sounds really interesting and soooooooooo many people love this book and the second book came out this year and it was blowing up everywhere.

I need to get to this soon.

 

 

 

12- Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows (Books #2, #3, #4 of Throne of Glass series) By Sarah J Mass

untitled (33).png

I read the first book. Really enjoyed it. I loved the surprise magical element I wasn’t expecting. The names were kind of hard to pronounce on some of them.

I still gotta read the next 3, books and I also wanna read Assasins Blade, the bind up of Novelas but I still have to buy that. I just need to find the motivation because these books take a long time to read.

13- Since You’ve been Gone By Morgan Matson 

untitled (28).pngI don’t feel too much shame for not having read this yet, since it’s a relatively new buy for me.  I am excited to read this though it seems like its going to be a really fun read, and the playlists that I’ve seen when I’ve skimmed through seem like they’re going to add so much more to the story

 

 

 

 

14- The Silence of Six by E.C Myers

This book is all about hacking. It starts off where a teenager hacks into something and says ‘What is the Silence of Six? And what are you going to do about it?” before killing himself and his friend who is also a hacker has to jump back into the hacker world to figure out whats going on.

I got this book recently too so im not that guilty I haven’t started it yet.

untitled (30).png

OK that is it for my On My Shelf TBR Pile. Hopefully I can tick a few of these off soon. Thanks for reading. I hope you liked this post -Purple Pancakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

